Search for historical plays, melodramas, political satires, black minstrel shows, comic operas, musical extravaganzas, parlor entertainments in the United States from 1820-1900.
Contains plays from the earliest Greek works through the present day, in text, video, and audio formats. Includes background and contextual works on playwrights, theater movements, genres, practitioners and periods, as well as scholarly monographs, dictionary content, and practical books on acting and stage craft.
Duke has access to the following modules:
--Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection
--Core Collection
--Critical Studies and Performance Practice
--The Hollow Crown
--National Theatre Collection 1, 2, 3
--Nick Hern Books Modern Plays
--Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) Live Collection
--Shakespeare Video Collection
--Shakespeare's Globe on Screen
--Shakespeare’s Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1 & 2
--Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection 1 & 2
--Theatre Communications Group (TCG) Books Play Collection
Find and watch streaming videos of performances in dance, theater and the arts
Search facsimiles of 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900 from the American Antiquarian Society.
The Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library will have many items related to the study of theater.
A good place to start searching their collections is the Collection Guides. You can browse by subject and look for theater to see theater-related topics.
