Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EXPERT TIP: This is just a selection of the primary source databases on North America available to Duke users. The see also links at the bottom of the page refer you to more options.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
America's Historical Imprints
Combined search for Early American Imprints Series I and II plus supplements. Provides access to thousands of books, pamphlets, broadsides, maps and more. Coverage is 1639 to 1819.
American Founding Era Collection
Offers consolidated searching for the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, Dolley Madison, and Alexander Hamilton plus documents on the ratification of the U.S. Constitution.
Library of Congress's endeavor to digitize their holdings, including written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. Amazing resource.
American Periodicals Series
Provides access to scanned articles from over 1000 magazines and journals first published from 1740 to 1900. Coverage extends to 1940.
Early Canadiana Online
Online collection of books, magazines and government publications documenting Canadian history from the 1600s to the 1940s.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Provides access to a wide range of documents on women's activism.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery
Online collection of thousands of documents on slavery and anti-slavery. The collection will be released in four parts. Duke currently has Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Contains over 2000 sources from North American women from colonial times to the 1950. It includes records from close to 1,500 women.
The American West
Provides access to a range of materials, including manuscripts, books and maps, on the American West. Coverage is 1722 to 1939.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Provides access to over 1,000 sources of letters, diaries and memoirs from individuals who lived through and experienced the American Civil War. Coverage is 1855-1875.
Provides access to images of all the pages in Harper's Weekly from 1857 to 1912.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Provides access to thousands of pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Coverage begins in 1840 with the main focus on the period from 1890-1920.
Collection will be released in modules. Current access is to modules 1-6. Coverage begins in 1909.
Tells the story of the 1960s through letters, oral histories, memoirs, broadsides, pamphlets, and more. Coverage is 1960 to 1974.