Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Personal Papers: Introduction

Papers of individuals who worked in advertising, sales and marketing during their careers

Rena Bartos

undefined

Rena Bartos worked as a marketing researcher, advertising executive, and consultant from 1960 to 1998.  After serving as Director of Research at McCann Erickson, Bartos joined the J. Walter Thompson Company as Head of Creative Research where she remained until her retirement in 1987 to form her own agency, the Rena Bartos Company.  Bartos was a pioneer in the field of marketing to women and older adults and was the recipient of numerous prestigious advertising awards.  Her papers document the entirety of her career in the communications field.

Introduction

How To Use This Library Guide:

The Hartman Center contains the personal papers of hundreds of individuals who were involved in the world of advertising in one way or another. It includes artists, photographers, copywriters, managers, and executives who worked in sales, marketing, and advertising over the course of their careers. This resource highlights the most important collections and is not meant to be comprehensive. If you want assistance locating materials not included here, please reach out to our archivist!

To help you with your research, this guide organizes the papers into XXX sections, which you can access via the tabs at the top of the page. 

  • Personal Papers Collections List: If you know what you are looking for or want to browse the whole list of personal papers, this is the place to start. 
  • Personal Papers by Profession: In this section, we divide the personal papers by different kinds of careers. Start here if you are interested in finding out about creatives, sales representatives, or upper management. 
  • Personal Papers by Agency: Much of our materials draws from the J. Walter Thompson collection, but we personal papers of individuals who worked at a number of different advertising firms, including Benton & Bowles, and Ogilvy & Mather

Additional Information

Duke Libraries Catalog
The on-line catalog provides the most comprehensive way of finding items across all of the Duke libraries. Advanced searching is also available, allowing you to limit the returns based upon multiple words or phrases, or even physical location (such as Rubenstein). Suggested terms for searching:

Collection Guides (Formerly "Finding Aids") 
Collection descriptions, listed as Collection Guides, contain collections of personal or corporate records which more fully described than in the catalog, and are key-word searchable. You may search multiple terms simultaneously, such as the ones listed above.

Further questions
For additional information, please contact the Hartman Center Reference Archivist.

Subject Guide

Josh Larkin Rowley's picture
Josh Larkin Rowley
Contact:
Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library
919-660-5833