Skip to main content

Guide to Collections Related to Pan American World Airways: Print Advertisements

Selected collections and materials in Duke University Libraries related to Pan American World Airways.

Print Advertisements

The collections listed here contain print advertisements produced for Pan Am by various agencies. It begins with our recommended collections, which hold the bulk of our Pan Am ads, and is followed by a list of all collections that contain ads. The rest of these collections typically contain only a few advertisements.

 

Recommended Collections

J. Walter Thompson Company. Domestic Advertisements Collection, 1875-2001
This extensive collection of print ads from JWT includes numerous boxes of Pan Am advertising from 1942 to 1974.

Wells Rich Greene Inc. Records, 1954-1998 and undated
This collection contains an extensive amount of both print advertisements and audiovisual materials. The collection includes 15 boxes of Pan American print advertising from 1982-1988.

Wunderman Archives, 1946-2010 and undated (restricted to research)
This collection contains advertisements and promotional material for Wunderman’s Pan Am account from 1982 to 1991.
 

 

All Related Collections, A-Z

Amil Gargano papers, 1960-2011 and undated

Amil Gargano was an advertising executive with several prominent agencies including Carl Ally, Inc. and Ally & Gargano, in both Detroit and New York. Box 36 contains an undated advertisement for Pan Am.

Garrett Orr Papers, circa 1873-1994, bulk 1890s-1914, 1935-1965

The Garrett Orr Papers document the artistic output and personal files of advertising executive Garrett Orr. The Product Files Series of this collection contains two photographic prints of Pan Am billboard ads.

Gene Federico Papers, 1918-2003 and undated, bulk 1951-1991

This collection documents Federico's sixty years as a pioneering leader in advertising and graphic design, and contains materials from a variety of formats, including correspondence, writings, advertisements proofs and clippings, graphic design and printed materials, posters, sketches/sketchbooks, photographs, negatives, and videotapes. This collection contains one undated advertisement for Pan Am.

Helayne Spivak papers, 1972-2015 and undated

Helayne Spivak is an advertising executive and educator based in New York and Richmond, VA. This collection contains several folders of Pan Am advertisements from the 1970s.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Competitive Advertisements, 1955-1997

This collection consists primarily of clippings obtained from a selection of nationally distributed magazines and newspapers, representing print advertising campaigns of JWT client competitors. However, some of JWT's own clients are represented, including Pan Am. There are typically a few folders of Pan Am advertisements in the T413 section of each series.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Domestic Advertisements Collection, 1875-2001

This extensive collection of print ads from JWT includes numerous boxes of Pan Am advertising from 1942 to 1974. Materials include advertisements prepared for both domestic and international consumers. Specific advertisements include print ads for the introduction of jet passenger travel and cargo advertisements. In addition, copy scripts, photographs, typography and other design elements are present in many cases along with the finished advertisements. The collection also includes newspaper and magazine insertion schedules for some years.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Edward G. Wilson Papers, 1906-1991, bulk 1946-1971

Edward G. Wilson was an executive with J. Walter Thompson from 1930 until his retirement in 1971, and held the positions of General Counsel, Executive Vice-President and Secretary of the Company. The two folders of Pan Am materials in this collection include correspondence, financial reports, pamphlets, and advertisements.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Frankfurt Office. Advertisements Collection, 1950-1991 and undated

This collection includes multiple boxes and folders of magazine and newspaper advertisements for the Pan Am German market. While some of these ads are in English, the majority are in German and span the period of 1955 to 1978. Topics include cargo services, in-flight services, pet services, various aircraft in the Pan Am fleet, holiday fare specials, US-German routes, and German-Asian routes.

J. Walter Thompson Company. International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

This collection contains print advertisements for international markets. Materials include advertisements for Pan Am from 1968 and 1969 for markets in Argentina and Puerto Rico.

J. Walter Thompson Company. John F. Dignam Papers, 1958-2003 and undated, bulk 1960s-1987

John F. Dignam was a commercial artist and an executive with J. Walter Thompson during a 26-year career, in which he held positions of Vice President and Senior Art Director. Dignam's papers include several folders of Pan Am advertisements, including oversize poster advertisements for Pan Am from the 1970s.

J. Walter Thompson Company. London Office. Print Advertisements, 1900-1999 and undated​

This collection contains print advertisements and other related documentation produced by JWT's London Office. It includes one Pan Am ad from 1954.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Sidney Ralph Bernstein Company History Files, 1873-1964

The Sidney Ralph Bernstein Company History Files span the years 1873 to 1964, but the bulk of the material dates from 1963 to 1964. The files were created by Sidney Ralph Bernstein and Marianne Keating, his research assistant, for a commemorative history of the J. Walter Thompson Company at the time of its centennial anniversary. The Client Files Series of this collection contains materials related to Pan Am, including a few copies of advertisements.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Small Accessions, 1895-2006

This is an artificial collection that gathers a large number of small accessions and loose materials discovered during periodic cleanup and inventory of archival stacks and office spaces. Included in Box 3 is a Pan Am brochure from 1956.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Ted Wilson Papers, 1966-1977

This collection primarily documents Wilson’s career as an administrator coping with JWT’s financial difficulties during the mid-1970s. The collection contains a single folder pertaining to Pan Am from the period of December 1969 to November 1970. The folder primarily houses advertisements from three ad campaigns during this period.

J. Walter Thompson Company. Wallace W. Elton Papers, 1909-1990

This collection documents the career of Wallace Elton. The Advertisements Series of this collection contains a scrapbook and other advertising materials related to Pan Am.

Jane Kilbourne papers, 1908-1972 and undated

Jane Kilbourne was a journalist, editor and public relations executive primarily with Pan American Airlines, based in New York. This collection includes correspondence, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks and published articles that document Kilbourne's career with Pan Am. Included in Box 1 are print advertisements for Pan Am.

Roy Lightner Collection of Antique Advertisements, 1870s-2000s, bulk 1910-1969

Roy Lightner was an advertising and marketing executive, primarily with N.W. Ayer & Son agency, from which he retired in 1980, and with Carden & Cherry Advertising of Nashville, Tenn. This collection spans the years 1871-2009 and includes primarily print advertisements clipped from U.S. magazines. This collection contains several advertisements for Pan Am from 1979.

Wells Rich Greene Inc. Records, 1954-1998 and undated

This collection contains an extensive amount of both print advertisements and audiovisual materials. The collection includes 15 boxes of Pan American print advertising from 1982t o 1988. These advertisements include both American and international markets. International advertisements are primarily European and including advertisements in German, French, Czech, and Hungarian. In addition, the collection contains television commercials from 1982 to 1988.

Wunderman Archives, 1946-2010 and undated (restricted to research)

This collection contains advertisements and promotional material for Wunderman’s Pan Am account from 1982 to 1991. These materials include scrapbooks promotional materials for the Pan Am World Pass, Clipper Club, and World Club. In addition, there are several slides of undated promotional materials, historical information, and client logos as well as an undated video presentation.