Why use an encyclopedia? The Duke University Libraries provide access to hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, containing articles written by experts. Encyclopedias can be excellent resources for providing overviews, brainstorming topics, and identifying keywords to use searches.
Online Reference Collections
ABC-CLIO ebook Collection, formerly History Reference Online, is an online collection of hundreds of history reference titles published by ABC-Clio. This is a fantastic resource, which can be browsed by subject categories or full-text searched by keyword.
Oxford Reference Online provides access to a selection of reference titles. The database homepage displays a listing of all the accessible titles. so you can quickly identify the ones that pertain to U.S. history.
How to find an encyclopedia on a particular subject?
In the online catalog, add the term encyclopedia to your keyword search. For example, combine encyclopedia with keywords like capitalism, finance, labor, business, commerce, etc.
  |
|
  |
Rubenstein Library holds Duke's Special Collections and Archives. Create a Special Collections Account to request materials for use in the reading room. Once set up, the account allows you to use collections in the reading room at Rubenstein and at the Wilson Special Collections library at UNC.
Need materials that aren't in the Duke University Libraries' collections? The Document Delivery Services (ILR) will contact other libraries and institutions on your behalf to get the items that you need. It takes just a few minutes to become a registered user. Create an account on the Interlibrary Requests page.
