America's Historical Newspapers (1690 to 1922) provides access to scanned images from newspapers from all 50 U.S. states.
Newspapers.com provides access to articles from thousands of newspapers from the 1700s -2000s.
19th Century US Newspapers provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.
Chronicling America is a joint project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Currently, you can search and view pages from the newspapers of around 30 states. The ultimate goal of this project is to have every state and U.S. territory represented in this digital archive. Coverage is 1777 to 1963 but varies by title.
World Access News Research Collection is a large collection of titles arranged by state and region. This full-text service excludes advertisements but includes national, regional, state, and local news items which were written by the local newspaper staff. Letters to the editor and editorials are also included. Coverage is largely from the 1990s to present. This database also contains some newspapers with historical coverage including the Charlotte Observer (NC), the Durham Herald-Sun (NC), the Raleigh News and Observer (NC), and the Miami Herald (FL).
US Newsstream provides access to articles from major US newspapers. Date coverage varies by title, but the majority are available from 1980 to the present.
NexisUni provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. newspapers, radio and television transcripts. Coverage varies by title, but the majority of titles are available from the 1990s to the present.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century provides the full text of articles from the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder. Coverage begins in 1827 but varies by title.
African-American Newspapers (1827-1998) provides full-text access to over 350 newspapers from more than 35 states. Note: You will be taken to the general search screen for America's Historical Newspapers, but the search is limited to the African American newspaper modules.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America provides access to print journalism from indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016.
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection contains thousands of articles, photos, advertisements, cartoons, and more from newspapers published by the Communist Party USA from 1919-2013
Ethnic Newswatch (1960 to present) contains the full text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States.
Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to scanned images from major U.S. newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Baltimore Sun (1837-1998); Chicago Tribune (1849-2015); Los Angeles Times (1881-2015); The New York Times (1851-2020); The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012); The Washington Post (1877-2008). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers provides access to scanned images from Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010); the Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010); and the Chicago Defender (1910 -2010) Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010); New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010; Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2010); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010); the Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010); the Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010); the St. Louis American (1949-2010). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.
