World History: Getting Started

• History Reference Online
    (ABC-CLIO Reference Ebooks)

• The Routledge Companion to Historical Studies
    an introduction to the key issues, historians and philosophers and their ideas and theories which have prompted the rethinking of history.

•  Oxford Reference Online: History
  Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.

• Cambridge Histories Online
  Full text of all the volumes in this series, with a search function.

• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
  Essays on over 55,000 deceased people from Britain and its colonies.

• American National Biography
  Details the lives of nearly 18,000 deceased men and women from all walks of American life.

• World Biographical Information System
  Biographical information on over 3.8 million people worldwide, from the 4th century BC to present..

• America: History and Life
  Citations and abstracts for articles on the history of the US and Canada.
• Historical Abstracts
  Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
• Bibliography of Asian studies
  Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
• Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)
  A comprehensive index to books, articles, and some primary sources about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from the Roman period to the present day.
• International Medieval Bibliography
  Covering all facets of medieval (400-1500) history and life in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
• History of Science
  Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields.
• PAIS
  PAIS began is and is online from 1915 to the present.  Includes many government and international organization documents.
• Web of Science
  A great secondary database which can be used to identify sources by  keyword or which can be used to identify work which cites items which you know to be relevant.
• Periodicals Index Online
  A specialty index which includes references to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1770 to 1995. It is especially strong for book reviews.  The sister database Periodicals Archive Online contains full text of a substantial number of the articles.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR is a collection of the full text contents of a broad range of academic journals. The search interface of JSTOR and its broad coverage make it useful as a one stop shop for secondary literature though it is by no means comprehensive
• JURN Directory
  3,000 links to selected arts & humanities ejournals.  Journals listed are either free (open access), or offer significant free content.
• All History Databases
  Keyword-generated list, not complete.

Schedule a research consultation with a subject specialist:

Carson Holloway
Subjects: Military, State and Local and History of Science

Reference/Lilly, Bostock 226
660-5997
Email Me carson.holloway@duke.edu
 

Kelley Lawton
Subject: United States History

114 Lilly Library
919-660-5990
Email Me

Full list of Subject Specialists