Skip to Main Content

GSF 101S: Gender and Everyday Life

Database Tips

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Choose Find Databases by Subject or enter database name (i.e. JSTOR).

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online. If it's not online, check the online catalog to see if we have the journal in print.

If you can't find the full-text, then chat with a librarian to double-check or email Danette (danettep@duke.edu), your course librarian. 

Need Help? Chat with a Librarian

Featured journals

Camera Obscura provides a forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies and encourages contributions in areas at the conjunctions of gender, race, class, and sexuality with audiovisual culture. From publisher website.

 

 

 

 

 

Feminist Media Studies is for researchers pursuing feminst approaches to the field of media and communication studies, with attention to the historical, philosophical, cultural, social, political and economic media, film and the arts, and new media technologies. 

Search in databases to find articles and book chapters on your topic

 

The Libraries Databases are collections of scholarly materials in all disciplines that are arranged and classified by subjects and keywords. Some databases are very subject-specific, some are specific types of materials--for example primary sources, newspapers, encyclopedias. 
You can find a listing of all the databases here, and find different subjects from the "All Subjects" drop-down menu on the left side of the screen.
Below find databases that might be useful for this class: