LibGuides: Education: Getting Started

Getting Started

Your Librarian

Haley Walton

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Perkins Library
haley.walton@duke.edu

919-660-5938

Subjects: Education, Social Sciences

Citing sources

Research in education is typically cited in APA style.

Check out these sites for tips on citing sources:

To organize your research and produce a bibliography and in-text citations, try a citation manager tool!

Getting Started with Library Resources for the Study of Education

The Duke Libraries provide a broad collection of materials pertaining to primary, secondary, and higher education. This guide highlights those resources and tips for using the collection for your research in education topics.

Reference Sources

Books and online resources for a general understanding of education foundational principles, theory, and philosophy. A great starting point to familiarize yourself with topics before diving deeper!

Reference Sources

Books

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education by Eugene F. Provenzo (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412906784
Publication Date: 2008-10-29
Provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. With more than 400 entries, the three volumes of this indispensable resource offer a thorough and interdisciplinary view of the field for all those interested in issues involving schools and society.
21st Century Education: a Reference Handbook by Thomas L. Good (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781412950114
Publication Date: 2008-10-02
Offers 100 chapters written by leading experts in the field that highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today. This comprehensive and authoritative two-volume work provides undergraduate education majors with insight into the rich array of issues inherent in education-issues informing debates that involve all Americans.
A Companion to the Philosophy of Education by Randall Curren (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780631228370
Publication Date: 2003-03-21
Offers a state-of-the-art account of current and controversial issues in education, including issues pertaining to multiculturalism, special education, sex education, and academic freedom.
The Handbook of Dewey's Educational Theory and Practice by Charles L. Lowery (Editor); Patrick M. Jenlink (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004405318
Publication Date: 2019-08-15
Provides a comprehensive, accessible, richly theoretical yet practical guide to the educational theories, ideals, and pragmatic implications of the work of John Dewey, America's preeminent philosopher of education.
Encyclopedia of American Education by Harlow G. Unger
Call Number: LB17 .U54 2001
ISBN: 0816043442
Publication Date: 2002-01-31
Covers the entire span of American education from the colonial period to 2000.
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor); Kimberly J. Vannest (Editor); Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470642160
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
A comprehensive reference devoted to special education.
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education by Doris Pronin Fromberg (Editor); Leslie R. Williams (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203813546
Publication Date: 2012-05-23
A reference work about young children in the USA, designed for use by policy makers, community planners, parents of young children, teacher and early childhood educators, programme and school administrators, among others.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education by Miriam E. David (Editor); Marilyn J. Amey (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473942912
Publication Date: 2020-07-27
Demonstrates the impact higher education has had on global economies and universities across the world. Topics include: students burdened with higher tuition fees; departments expected to produce courses and research that have clear and demonstrable social impact; what the university is and how it meets social and business requirements.
International Encyclopedia of Higher Education Systems and Institutions by Jung-Cheol Shin (Editor-In-Chief); et al.
ISBN: 9789401789066
Publication Date: 2020-08-19
Covers all higher education themes in a comprehensive, accessible and comparative way. It maps the field for the twenty first century reflecting the massive changes that have occurred and the challenges ahead for future research. It provides a rich diversity of scholarly perspectives and covers the entire spectrum of higher education from a geographical, a topical and disciplinary perspective.

Online Reference Sources

World Higher Education Database
In collaboration with UNESCO, the IAU WHED Portal provides authoritative information on higher education systems and credentials; all accredited or recognized higher education institutions (HEIs) that meet WHED criteria.
Almanac of Higher Education
Created by the Chronicle of Higher Education. Requires Duke login.

Education

Your Librarian

Citing sources

Getting Started with Library Resources for the Study of Education

Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Books

Online Reference Sources

Contact Us

Services for...