LibGuides: Duke Environmental Leadership Master of Environmental Management (DEL-MEM): Library resources & services

Finding information

Articles and journals

Article search
Search for articles in peer-reviewed journals that Duke Libraries subscribes to and access full-text PDFs.
Browse online journals
See which scholarly journals Duke Libraries subscribes to, including coverage dates and full-text access.
A–Z Databases
Browse our entire collection of research databases by subject, title, or type.

Books (print & digital)

Duke Libraries catalog
Browse our catalog of books and assorted media (music, movies, government documents, etc.).
Ebook search
Looking specifically for ebooks? Check out our collections of ebooks.

Theses and dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ Duke University This link opens in a new window
Search for doctoral dissertations by Duke University authors
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Search dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world from 1743 to present. Full text theses from 1997-present

Duke student scholarship collection (DukeSpace)
Browse theses, dissertations, and projects written by Duke students, undergraduate through graduate.

Nicholas School of the Environment Master's projects

Master's projects by Nicholas School of the Environment students (DukeSpace)
Master's projects by Nicholas School of the Environment students, including the Duke Marine Laboratory. Duke migrated to an electronic-only system for masters projects between 2006 and 2010. As such, projects completed between 2006 and 2010 may not be part of this system, and those created before 2006 are not hosted here except for a small number that have been digitized.

Getting access

Off-campus access

Current Duke students, faculty, and staff have access to electronic library materials from off-campus.

Most databases, eBooks, and other electronic resources use EZproxy authentication (meaning you will be prompted for your net ID). Some databases require the use of a VPN. The VPN may also work in cases when EZproxy does not.

For more information, see Off-Campus Access to E-Resources.

Tips for full-text access

LibKey Nomad
A browser extension that connects to Duke Libraries' subscriptions and provides one-click access to full-text PDFs.
Library Access Button Bookmarklet
A quick way to determine if a resource is accessible via Duke Libraries is to use our Library Access Button Bookmarklet. It is a proxy bookmarklet, meaning whenever you find a resource you're interested in online, simply click the Library Access button in your browser's bookmark menu, and it will connect to our catalog and let you know if we subscribe to it.
Unpaywall
Unpaywall finds the kind of articles you'd see in peer-reviewed scholarly journals by harvesting content directly from over 50,000 journals and open-access repositories from all over the world.

Did you know you can link Google Scholar with Duke University Libraries?

Go to Google Scholar
Click the hamburger menu (☰) in the upper left corner of the screen
Click Settings then Library links
Type Duke and select all appropriate links
Now, when you search in Google Scholar, the results will link back to the Duke University Libraries catalog and provide full-text access where applicable.

Library services

Interlibrary loan (ILL)

Create an Interlibrary Request account
Can't access a book or article? Use this account to request both from other libraries or from Duke's off-site storage.

Need help with an interlibrary request? Reach out to interlibraryrequest@duke.edu or call the ILL borrowing assistant at (919) 660-5890.

Services for graduate students

Center for Data and Visualization Sciences
Get help finding, analyzing, and visualizing data.at the library
Digital Scholarship & Publishing Services
Digital Scholarship & Publishing Services staff provide consultation on digital project design and development, primarily in the humanities and interpretive social sciences.
Reserve graduate student study space
Reserve a spot in the DRS (Doctoral Research Space), locker, or carrel
Graduate Reading Room
Use the Graduate Reading Room in Perkins Library (open to any graduate students -- ask for the code at the Perkins Service Desk)
Publish & archive your work
At every step in the research process, Duke University Libraries can help you share your scholarship widely, reach and engage your intended audiences, meet your funding requirements, track use, be rewarded for your work, and sustain your scholarly contributions over time — all without publication delays, access restrictions, copyright transfers, or fees. The Libraries can help you publish and maintain your work and do it your way.

Background information

ScienceDirect
includes works on biodiversity, ecology, energy, forestry, oceanography, and soils (limit search to "Reference Works" for background information).
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field
Encyclopedia of Global Warming & Climate Change
A multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it.