Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Census: Data on Individuals

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest
Includes scanned images of the US Federal Census schedules for 1790-1940 (still incomplete for 1940), including name indexes for many years. It also includes genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials including material from all 50 states and Canada; PERSI (Periodical Source Index); Revolutionary War pension and bounty land warrant application files; and Freedman's Bank records (ongoing).

Ancestry.com
Coverage of the U.S. , U.K., Canada. and other areas. Contains historical documents and photos, including: census; local narratives; oral histories; church, court, immigration, and vital records; and indexes. More than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names including U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers.

For more genealogy resources, see the Library Guide on Genealogy.

Population Schedules in Perkins Microforms Dept.

The Census Schedules are handwritten lists of names and other personal information from which the printed Census statistical publications were derived.

These lists indicate which population schedules the Newspaper and Microforms Department holds for each decade, the number of microfilm reels for each state, and the call number. (Special non-population schedules are listed in the chart to the right.) For census materials not listed here, please consult with the Newspapers and Microforms Department staff at the Bostock Library Help Desk, or the Research Services staff in Perkins Library. They may be able to refer you to other locations within the Library which may hold the information you need.

1830
State  # of Reels  Call Number
Alabama 4 reels M6404
Arkansas 1 reel M6406
Florida 1 reels M6407
Georgia 6 reels M6408
Louisiana 3 reels M6409
Mississippi 2 reels M6410
North Carolina 8 reels M6405
South Carolina 5 reels M6411
Tennessee 9 reels M6412
Virginia 13 reels M6413
1840
State  # of Reels  Call Number
Massachusetts (Worcester County) 4 reels N3801
Wisconsin (Milwaukee) 1 reel M6018
1850
Massachusetts (Worcester County) 6 reels N3802
Wisconsin (Milwaukee) 1 reels M6018
1870
Mississippi (Tunica & Warren Counties) 1 reel N3895
North Carolina 46 reels M9383
1880
North Carolina 39 reels M9384
1900
Mississippi (Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica & Union Counties) 1 reel N3892
1910
State  # of Reels  Call Number
Alabama (Greene, Hale, Limestone & Henry Counties) 1 reel M5337
Mississippi (Smith, Tunica & Sunflower Counties) 1 reel M5336
North Carolina
Reel 1108 = Duplin & Durham Counties
Reel 1109 = Durham, Mitchell & Edgecombe Counties
2 reels M5338

Non-Population Schedules in Perkins Library Microforms Dept.

These are supplementary schedules that were discarded many years ago by the Census Bureau, but then saved by Congress, which sent them to various repositories. Duke eventually got the ones listed below. (Typically, original Census records are held by and filmed by the National Archives.)

The collection contains the original returns compiled by the census enumerator. Schedules exist in four main categories: agriculture, manufacturing, "defective, dependent, and delinquent classes," and social statistics. The 7th (1850); 8th (1860); 9th (1870); and 10th (1880) censuses are included, while the states covered are Colorado, District of Columbia, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Tennessee, and Virginia, with scattered records for Montana, Nevada, and Wyoming. In many cases the returns are not complete. For a given schedule all counties of a state may not be represented.

The listing below may also contain a few other non-population schedules obtained from sources other than the Rubenstein Library.

1850
State # of Reels Call Number Type of Census
District of Columbia 2 reels M6283 Agriculture, Manufacturing & Social Statistics
Georgia 2 reels M6285 Social Statistics
Georgia 12 reels M6270 Agriculture & Manufacturing
Kentucky 2 reels M6290 Social Statistics
Kentucky 36 reels M6273 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Louisiana 3 reels M6279 Social Statistics
Louisiana 10 reels M6271 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Tennessee 2 reels M6286 Social Statistics
Tennessee 33 reels M6272 Agricultural & Manufacturing
1860
State # of Reels Call Number Type of Census
District of Columbia 3 reels M6283 Agriculture, Manufacturing, & Social Statistics
Georgia 21 reels M6270 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Georgia 1 reel M6329 Social Statistics
Kentucky 36 reels M6273 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Kentucky 1 reel M6331 Social Statistics
Louisiana 3 reels M6279 Social Statistics
Louisiana 10 reels M6271 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Tennessee 33 reels M6272 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Tennessee 1 reel M6330 Social Statistics
Virginia (Halifax County) 1 reel M6281 Free Inhabitants, Slaves, Deaths, Agriculture, Manufacturing
1870
State # of Reels Call Number Type of Census
Colorado 1 reel M6388 Agriculture, Social Statistics
Colorado 1 reels M6389 Manufacturing
District of Columbia 3 reels M6283 Agriculture, Manufacturing, Social Statistics
Georgia 2 reels M6285 Social Statistics
Georgia 21 reels M6270 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Georgia 1 reel M6284 Agricultural & Recapitulation
Kentucky 2 reels M6290 Social Statistics
Kentucky 36 reels M6372 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Kentucky 1 reel M6291 Agricultural & Recapitulation
Louisiana 10 reels M6279 Social Statistics
Louisiana 1 reel M6271 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Louisiana 1 reel M6278 Agricultural & Recapitulation
Tennessee 2 reels M6286 Social Statistics
Tennessee 33 reels M6272 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Tennessee 1 reel M6288 Agricultural & Recapitulation
Tennessee 1 reel N3279 Agricultural
1880
State # of Reels Call Number Type of Census
Colorado 1 reel M6388 Agriculture; Defectives, Dependents, Delinquents
Colorado 1 reel M6389 Manufacturing
District of Columbia 3 reels M6283 Defectives, Dependents, Delinquents; Pauper & Indigent; Manufacturing: Special Schedules
District of Columbia 1 reel M6282 Agricultural
Georgia 21 reels M6270 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Georgia 2 reels M6277 Defectives, Dependents, Delinquents
Kentucky 36 reels M6273 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Kentucky 2 reels M6289 Defectives, Dependents, Delinquents
Louisiana 10 reels M6271 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Louisiana 1 reel M6280 Defectives, Dependents, Delinquents
Mississippi 1 reel N3894 Agricultural
Montana 1 reel M6282 Agricultural
Nevada 1 reel M6282 Agricultural
Tennessee 33 reels M6272 Agricultural & Manufacturing
Tennessee 2 reels M6287 Defectives, Dependents, Delinquents
Wyoming 1 reel M6282 Agricultural