LibGuides: Writing 101: The Art of Musical Instruments: Finding Books

Selected books

Duke University Libraries Catalog
Search for books and media available in Duke Libraries. We recommend you choose the Books & Media tab for a more targeted search for books.

The Art of Mbira: musical inheritance and legacy by Paul F. Berliner
ISBN: 9780226628547
Publication Date: 2020-01-31
Singing Bronze: A History of Carillon Music by Luc Rombouts
ISBN: 9789058679567
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Good Vibrations: A History of Electronic Musical Instruments by Sarah Hardjowirogo; Benedikt Brilmayer (Editor); Sarah-Indriyati Hardjowirogo (Editor); Conny Restle (Editor)
Call Number: Music Library ML1092 .G646 2017
ISBN: 9783422074019
The Banjo: America's African Instrument by Laurent Dubois
ISBN: 9780674047846
Piano Roles: three hundred years of life with the piano by James Parakilas; Noah Adams (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780300080551
Publication Date: 2000-02-09
The Violin: a social history of the world's most versatile instrument by David Schoenbaum
Call Number: Music Library ML800 .S326 2012
ISBN: 9780393084405
The Musical Instruments of the Indigenous People of South Africa by Percival R. Kirby
ISBN: 9781868146055
Electronic Music Machines by Jean-Michel Reveillac
Call Number: Music Library ML1092 .R48 2019
ISBN: 9781786303257
Instruments for New Music by Thomas W. Patteson
ISBN: 9780520288027
Publication Date: 2015-11-11
Junkyard Jam Band: DIY musical instruments and noisemakers by David Erik Nelson
ISBN: 9781593276119
Minstrels and Angels: carvings of musicians in medieval English churches by Jeremy Montagu; Gwen Montagu; C. R. Nicewonger (Photographer)
Call Number: Music Library Reference ML85 .M66 1998
ISBN: 0914913409
Sounds of the Silk Road: : musical instruments of Asia by Mitchell Clark (Text by)
Call Number: Music Library ML525 .C53 2005
ISBN: 0878466886
Musical Instruments and Sound-Producing Objects of Oceania: the collections of the Australian Museum by Michael Atherton
Call Number: Music Library ML547 .A82 2010
ISBN: 9783034306188
In Concert! - Musical Instruments in Art, 1860-1910 by édéric Frank; Belinda Thomson
Call Number: Triangle Research Libraries Shared Print ML85 .I53 2017
ISBN: 9780300230093
Origins and Development of Musical Instruments by Jeremy Montagu
Call Number: Music Library ML460 .M76 2007
ISBN: 9780810856578
Burst of Breath: indigenous ritual wind instruments in lowland South America by Jonathan David Hill (Editor); Jean-Pierre Chaumeil (Editor)
ISBN: 9780803220928

Reference Sources

Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Comprehensive resource for the study of musical instruments.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedia entries in the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians on all aspects of music.
Oxford Bibliographies: Music This link opens in a new window
Includes annotated bibliographies for musical instruments, with entries on Musical Instruments, Electronic and Computer Music Instruments, Woodwind Instruments, Brass Instruments, and Keyboard Instruments.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Studies of musical instruments by region. Printed volumes also in Music Library Reference ML100 .G16 1997

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Call Number: Music Library Reference ML102.P66 C66 2003
ISBN: 9780826463227
The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments by Anthony C. Baines
Call Number: Music Library Reference ML102.I5 B34 1992
ISBN: 0193113341

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Search for information about musical instruments represented in art.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Search dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world.

Websites:

RIdIM: International Repertory of Musical Iconography
Important catalog of musical representations in art.
MIMO: Musical Instrument Museums Online
DUMIC: Duke University Musical Instrument Collections
National Music Museum
Catalog of musical instruments.
University of Washington Ethnomusicology Music Instrument Collection

Browsing books by subject

Finding books at Duke and worldwide

Duke Books & Media Search
Search across books and media at Duke. Expand your search to millions of books from UNC, NC State, and NCCU in the top left-hand side of search results. See the search tips page for advanced help.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search over 36 million items from libraries worldwide

Interlibrary Requests
A free service that allows you to request books, articles, and other items that are not available at Duke. You will need to create an account the first time you use this service.

Writing 101: The Art of Musical Instruments: Finding Books

Selected books

Reference Sources

Browsing books by subject

Finding books at Duke and worldwide

Contact Us

Services for...