Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DUMIC: Duke University Musical Instrument Collections
Finding a subject-specific database
The library subscribes to hundreds of specialized databases on subject areas ranging from engineering to art history. Here's how to begin using subject-specific databases:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Search for articles, books, dissertations, and performance reviews in music from 1800s to present
Music Periodicals Database
Search for journal articles on a wide variety of musical periods and styles
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.
Search for articles and interviews related to rock music
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
Humanities International Complete
Search for journal articles in the humanities, fine arts, and performance arts
Finding News Sources
Search for articles from thousands of scholarly journals
Search for journal articles and news coverage for many subjects
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
Google and other search engines allow you to search the surface web returning search results for millions of websites. Most research and scholarly content is not searchable by general search engines. Library catalogs and specialized research databases allow you to search the deep web which includes millions of pages from scholarly publications.
Finding Specific Articles, Journals, and Databases