LibGuides: ARTHIST 390S: Feminist Art: Feminism & Women's Liberation Sources

A Flavor of What We Collect

Art of Feminism by Helena Reckitt (Editor); Xabier Arakistain (Foreword by); Maria Balshaw (Preface by); Lucinda Gosling (Text by); Hilary Robinson (Text by); Amy Tobin (Text by)
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
The Women's Liberation Movement in America by Kathleen Berkeley
Publication Date: 1999-11-30
Constructive Feminism by Daphne Spain
Publication Date: 2016-05-04
Architecture and Feminism by Debra Coleman (Editor); Elizabeth Danze; Carol Henderson (Editor); Courtney Mercer (Editor)
ISBN: 1568980434
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
The Women's Movement Today by Leslie L. Heywood
Publication Date: 2005-11-30

Find articles, book chapters and books related to Women's Studies

Searching in these databases of scholarly materials is a great way to find secondary sources:

Women's Studies International
Indexes feminist research literature in a wide range of subject areas. Includes some core LGBT journals.
GenderWatch
Full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's studies and gender issues.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Covers more than 150 magazines and journals covering global women's issues, including sexuality.
Left Index
Includes literature of the left with emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside & outside academia

Other Library Specialists

The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture staff are super human resources for primary materials like women-created artists books in their collection, housed in the Rubenstein Library on the third floor of Perkins.

Danette Pachtner is the Women's Studies Librarian, based in Lilly Library. Feel free to contact her for help in finding sources; you can schedule an appointment here.

Focus Your Search

To find books on specific topics, use subject headings like these:
Feminism
Feminism -- United States
Feminism and art
Feminist theory
Women's rights
Women's rights -- United States -- History
Women artists
Women in art

Digitized Collections

Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture by Duke Libraries Digital Collections
Publication Date: 1997
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Search for documents related to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Search for primary sources texts, footage and documentaries that explore events from the sixties and early seventies.