Young Scholars Summer Research Institute : Getting Started

Digital Durham

Digital Durham is a project of the Library and historian Trudi Abel designed to highlight digital resources about the history of Durham.

http://digitaldurham.duke.edu/index.php

Durham County Library North Carolina Collection 

  Durham's First Bookmobile

The Durham County Library North Carolina Collection  collects materials concerning the city and county of Durham. Duke researchers often find this collection and its curator, Lynn Richardson, invaluable.

http://www.durhamcountylibrary.org/ncc.php

 Open Durham is a blog-based site on the history of places in Durham. Images are drawn from a variety of sources for this wonderful volunteer created resource.

http://www.opendurham.org/

United States History Guide to the collections of Perkins Library.  This is the general guide that covers many topics incluging civil rights.  Both primary and secondary sources are covered

The Franklin Research Center of the Rubenstein Library at Duke has extensive primary sources including Prof Chafe's original interview transcripts and tapes. Many valuable resources are available here.

http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/franklin/collections/af-am-mss/post-wwii.html

Printed resources  are arranged in order of relevance to tracing the civil rights movement in Durham and North Carolina

Greene, Christina, Our Separate Ways: Women and the Black Freedom Movement in Durham North Carolina  Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2005. Perkins F264.D9 G74 2005

Brown, Leslie, Upbuilding Black Durham : gender, class, and Black community development in the Jim Crow South Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, 2008.  Perkins F264.D9 B83 2008 

Chafe, William Henry, Civilities and civil rights : Greensboro, North Carolina, and the Black struggle for freedom. New York : Oxford University Press, 1980.  Perkins F264.G8 C47 1980

Anderson, Jean Bradley. Durham County. Durham: Duke University Press, 1990.
History of the county and city from the 1740s to the 1980s.   F262.D8 A63 1991

Roberts, Claudia P. The Durham Architectural and Historic Inventory. Durham: City of Durham, 1982.
An excellent building-by-building history of Durham and of its architecture. Thoroughly indexed.
Perkins Reference, Lilly Reference and Perkins Stacks  F255 .B769 1982 . Also in University Archives

 

Databases

America: History and Life

Historical New York Times

American Periodicals Series

America's Newspapers  Online access

Lexis Nexis Academic  Online access

Durham Morning Herald Index- Paper only

News and Observer Index  Paper only.