Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Young Scholars Summer Research Institute : Published Primary Sources

A guide for students in the Hank and Billye Suber Aaron Young Scholars Summer Research Institute at Duke

Key Sources

 

Proquest Historical Newspapers  Black Newspapers

This is  fairly comprehensive coverage of major African American Newspapers during the Civil Rights era. The keyword indexing  of this online source is useful to identify dates and topics of interest for papers like the Carolina Times, the Durham Morning Herald, and the Raleigh News and Observer which lack full online access.

Full text and full image articles from Atlanta daily world (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Cleveland call and post (1934-1991), Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam news (1922-1993), Norfolk journal & guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia tribune (1912-2001), and the Pittsburgh courier (1911-2002).

 

 

 

 

Public Affairs Information Service  (PAIS) This online index covers the long civil rights era (1915 to present) and includes references to books, articles, government documents and report literature on a wide variety of topics.

 

 

 

 

 
Search for:  

Databases

Other Important Databases

America: History and Life

Secondary history resources on the US and Canada

Historical New York Times

1853 to three years ago- the national newwspaper

America's Newspapers  Online access  to smaller papers nation wide

Lexis Nexis Academic  Online access to up to the minute reporting from a wide range of newspapers and periodicals

Durham Morning Herald Index- Paper only- also limited recent coverage in America's Newspapers

News and Observer Index  Paper only- also limited recent coverage in America's Newspapers.