Introduction to Library Research for Athletes: Finding Newspapers

 Use the Newspapers Search

Check out the Duke University Libraries newspaper research guide

Browse Newspaper Databases:

• Nexis Uni: National and international newspapers from the past 20 years.
• America's Newspapers: Smaller American newspapers.  Choose America's News to start.  Selected coverage from 2000-present.
• Factiva: Newspaper articles in full text searchable by topic or date range.

Historical Newspapers Online:

These newspapers include the full run of the publication with complete full text online.  The New York Times can be a resource for almost any topic.

Local Newspapers

• Carolina Times (1937-date) The Carolina Times began as The Standard Advertiser in August 1921.
• Digital full-text, (May 1,1937-December 26,1964)
• Durham Morning Herald [print]
• Durham Morning Herald [microfilm] (1901-1990; scattered earlier issues)
• The Independent Weekly [print]
• Independent Weekly [microform] (1992-1996 and the current month.) Index to the North Carolina Independent and the Independent 1983-1996
• The Herald-Sun [online] (1995-date) On January 1, 1991, the Herald-Sun was formed from the merger of the Durham Morning Herald and the Durham Sun.

National and International Newspapers

• Lexis Nexis Academic
• Factiva (2001-present)
• America's Newspapers
• World News Connection
• Current foreign newspaper subscriptions

Historical Newspaper Sources

• ProQuest Historical Newspapers:  New York Times (1851-3 years prior to current issue)
• Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985)
• America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)
• World Newspaper Archive