America's Historical Newspapers (1690 to 1922) provides access to scanned images from newspapers from all 50 U.S. states.
Newspapers.com provides access to articles from thousands of newspapers from the 1700s -2000s.
19th Century US Newspapers provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers is a collection of 25 newspapers which document life in the camps.
Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to scanned images from major U.S. newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Baltimore Sun (1837-1992); Chicago Tribune(1849-1994); Los Angeles Times (1881-1994); The New York Times (1851-2014); The Wall Street Journal (1889-2000); The Washington Post (1877-2001). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.
Census Information:
Perkins Library Government Documents (2nd Floor) includes printed resources from the Census of population and housing in addition to special reports. Many of these resources are represented in the Library catalog but you shouldn't hesitate to ask for help. Much recent Census information is online.
Government Publications
Search or browse the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Browse by subject, committee, author, publication type, or Congress. Search in citation or fulltext, by publication types, or bill numbers or types. Coverage is 1817 to 1980.
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
Covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. From the main search screen, select this module from the search specific modules list.
