History 183S: Asian Americans and Civil Rights

Lists websites where you can find oral histories of Chinese laundry workers, Vietnamese refugees, Seattle cannery workers, South Asians in the Pacific Northwest, and more.

A collection of oral histories of Asian Americans in Houston.

Focuses mainly on Asian Americans in the Midwest.

UCLA has collected oral histories of Asian Americans, including Korean Americans and South Asian Americans.

A collection of voices from Asians and Asian Americans in the South.

Since 1973, the Southern Oral History Program has worked to preserve the voices of the southern past. Can browse by "interviewee ethnicity."

The National Japanese American Historical Society (NJAHS) and the Tule Lake Committee are collaborating in the collection of oral histories of former Tule Lake internees.

An enormous repository of information about the Japanese American internment, including over 750 videos.

Digital interview recordings of Japanese Americans relating to immigration to the United States from Japan, internment of Japanese Americans during World War II, and the postwar Japanese American community. Interviews conducted by Kaoru Ueda. Includes images of diaries, newsletters and other textual material.

extensive Japanese American Oral History Project (JAOHP) was launched in 1972 at the urging of a then CSUF undergraduate history major, Betty E. Mitson. Interviews were done with two categories of "analysts"—novelists (Georgia Day Robertson and George Nakagawa) and social scientists (Togo Tanaka, Robert Spencer, and James Sakoda).

Personal accounts of individuals who were placed into internment camps following the bombing of Pearl Harbor, and accounts of people who assisted in the relocation of Japanese American students from the camps to colleges and universities around the country.

Cal State LA has collected oral histories of Chinese Americans in Southern California.

The Institute for Asian American Studies (IAAS), in partnership with the Chinese Historical Society of New England, has been interviewing Chinese Americans who owned, or whose parents owned, a laundry in Massachusetts.

The project documents the life stories of over 20 women who immigrated to the United States prior to 1965.

Short films share the Korean American experiences.

KADA's oral history collections include interviews from several sources. The sound recordings of these interviews are included in this section of the database and can be listen to and there are, as well, transcriptions available for some.

3,068 items in the largest publicly accessible archive of South Asian American history

The South Asian Oral History Project (SAOHP) at the University of Washington Libraries. The SAOHP represents one of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using the medium of oral history.

The life stories of Vietnamese Americans in Southern California. The project contributes to expanding archives on Vietnamese Americans with the primary goal of capturing first generation stories for students, researchers, and the community

The Bancroft Library's documentation of the Japanese American experience during World War II includes over 250,000 pages from an extensive collection of manuscripts and photographs.