CULANTH 103: Cultures of Globalization: Historical and Anthropological Perspectives: Primary Sources and Maps

• China: Trade, Politics & Culture, 1793-1980
  a wide variety of original source material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980
• Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007
  documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries
• Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850  
  full-text and full-page-image access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century
• India, Raj and Empire
  provides documents from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland pertaining to the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India

• Exploring the World of Connectography (This interactive map shows the railways, pipelines, canals and telecommunications lines which help to divide the land more drastically than state boundaries)
• Globalization, Communication, and GIS (This is a very interesting website to show the different world maps, such as world wealth, poverty, languages and so on) 

Digital South Asia Library This link opens in a new window

Search for articles, maps, and ebooks related to South Asian studies

Search for China demographic and economic data, maps, charts, and reports

• British Library

  The online collection includes fire insurance maps and historical maps from all over Britain.
• Broer Map Library

  The Broer Map Library is a collection of historic maps, primarily from the 19th & 20th centuries. The collection includes various types of maps and subject matters.
• David Rumsey Map Collections

  The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
• ezilon Maps of the World

  Provides geographical data and statistics on countries of the world.
• GeoRef

  A comprehensive database to geoscience literature worldwide.
• Harvard Map Collection

  Many of Harvard's maps are scanned and available online to the public. They can be searched using Harvard's Geospatial Library. Some maps can be viewed in person with a Harvard Special Borrower Card.
• Library of Congress American Memory Map Collection

  The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
• Mappery

  mappery is a diverse collection of real life maps contributed by map lovers worldwide. For the first time it allows people to easily find relevant and interesting maps of yet unknown places by visually browsing a larger context. mappery makes it easy to find and explore maps by keyword, location, or simply by browsing a map.
• MIT DOME

  Digital images of maps are contained in the MIT libraries DOME collection - try searching keyword 'map'.
• New York Public Library Digital Gallery

  NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
• Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at Boston Public Library

  Click on Collection > View Collection to see scans of many of BPL's historic maps.
• Old Maps Online

  A broad collection of historical maps from around the world.
• Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection

  A variety of online maps from around the world.
• ReliefWeb

  Select a country to find maps, articles, and data about recent disasters in that area.
• The Gulf Project

  The Gulf/2000 Project was created in 1993 as a service to scholars, government officials, business people, journalists and other specialists who have a professional association with the Persian Gulf and Gulf studies. The site includes maps that are ethnographic and cultural, economic, historical, military, and administrative for the Persian Gulf.
• World Digital Library

  The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
• CIA Maps

  Maps from the CIA of countries around the world.

  The list came from MIT Online Databases and Collections - Maps