Skip to Main Content

CULANTH 103: Cultures of Globalization: Historical and Anthropological Perspectives: Databases

This class explores the spatial and temporal dimensions of worldly inter-connectedness in their multi-faceted and plural forms

Databases

  • America: History and Life
    Citations and abstracts for articles on the history of the US and Canada.
  • Historical Abstracts 
    Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
  • ABI/Inform Complete
    ABI/INFORM Complete contains: ABI/Inform Archive -Historical business journals ABI/Inform Dateline - Local and regional business ABI/Inform Global - Scholarly, comprehensive business research from periodicals worldwide 
  • EconLit with Full Text
    Indexes articles in economics, including economic history, economic theory, microeconomics, macroeconomics, finance, production, welfare, inflation, accounting, international trade, consumer finance, political economy, and business credit. 
  • History of Science
    Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields.
  • PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) is online from 1915 to the present.  Includes many government and international organization documents.
  • EIU publications
    Includes country finance and data reports, and the Economist.
  • Web of Science
    A great secondary database which can be used to identify sources by  keyword or which can be used to identify work which cites items which you know to be relevant.
  • Periodicals Index Online
    A specialty index which includes references to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1770 to 1995. It is especially strong for book reviews.  The sister database Periodicals Archive Online contains full text of a substantial number of the articles.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a collection of the full text contents of a broad range of academic journals (excluding the most recent years). Its broad coverage make it useful as a one stop shop for secondary literature though it is by no means comprehensive

  • International Bibliography of  the Social Sciences
    This international source indexes ~2600 journals in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

Newspaper

  • For newspapers from other countries see the appropriate Area Studies Subject Guide
  • 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
    17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers provides full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books (1757-1817)
  •   19th Century British Library Newspapers
    The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library - includes national and regional newspapers.
  • Times digital archive 1785-1985 Search The Times (London) in full-text; provides facsimile reproductions of full pages or specific articles. Provides the entire newspaper including all advertisements and illustrations. 
  • Guardian and The Observer  The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003)
  • ​ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Searches newspapers simultaneously or individually: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1939), Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times  (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990), and the Washington Post (1877-1991). Also includes The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003); The Times of India (1838-2001). 
  • Wall Street Journal, 1889-1989  The Wall Street Journal (1889-1989) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic Provides the full text of over 6,000 sources including newspapers, journals, news wire services, newsletters, campus publications, company reports, case law, government documents, trade publications, broadcast transcripts, and selected reference works. Some sources go back to the 1970s, but most to the 1980s or 1990s.