LibGuides: CLST 300 Greek Drama: Tragedy & Comedy in Athens in the 5th century BCE: Greek Drama

Recommended Books

A Companion to Greek Literature by Hose; Martin Höse (Editor); David Schenker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781444339420
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
A Companion to Greek Literature presents a comprehensive introduction to the wide range of texts and literary forms produced in the Greek language over the course of a millennium beginning from the 6th century BCE up to the early years of the Byzantine Empire.
Beauty by David Konstan
ISBN: 9780199927265
Publication Date: 2015-01-02
What does it mean to say something is beautiful? On the one hand, beauty is associated with erotic attraction; on the other, it is the primary category in aesthetics, and it is widely supposed that the proper response to a work of art is one of objective contemplation. At its core, then,beauty is a contested concept, and both sides feel comfortable appealing to the authority of Plato, and via him, to the ancient Greeks generally. So, who is right - if either?Beauty offers an elegant investigation of ancient Greek notions of beauty and, in the process, sheds light on how we ought to appreciate the artistic achievements of the classical world.
Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy by Hanna M. Roisman
ISBN: 9781444335927
Publication Date: 2013-09-23
The Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy is the first comprehensive reference work to cover all facets of the distinct form of dramatic theater that flourished in ancient Greece with its apex in the 5th century BCE.

Featured Resources

Greek Tragedies 1 by Mark Griffith (Editor); Glenn W. Most (Editor); David Grene (Editor); Richmond Lattimore (Editor)
ISBN: 9780226035147
Publication Date: 2013-04-29
Sophocles by Sophocles; Hugh Lloyd-Jones (Edited and Translated by)
ISBN: 9780674995581
Publication Date: 1994-01-01

Loeb Collection
The Loeb Classical Library® is the only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.

Chi-raq
Call Number: DVD 089
Chi-Raq is a modern day adaptation of the ancient Greek play 'Lysistrata' by Aristophanes. After the murder of a child by a stray bullet, a group of women led by Lysistrata organize against the on-going violence in Chicago₂s Southside creating a movement that challenges the nature of race, sex and violence in America and around the world.
Aristophanes by Jeffrey Henderson (Edited and Translated by); Aristophanes
ISBN: 9780674995673
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
Literary Contexts in Plays [electronic resource] : Aristophanes' 'Lysistrata'.

Periodical Databases

To identify articles on your topic, the best tool is a research database. These are usually periodical indexes, which arrange journal articles by author, title and subject. This allows you to find as many articles as possible on your topic, since the references are collocated.

L'Annee Philologique-- this is the premier database for classical studies. It indexes over 1000 journals, so start here every time. Please see the user guide for ideas about searching. A video guide is in the making.

Dyabola -- Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut: Indexes books, articles and essays on antiquities, art and archaeology in the ancient Middle Eastern, classical, early Christian, Byzantine, and early Medieval periods. Some overlap with Zenon.

Zenon-- Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut. Zenon searches the following collections: The Archaeological Bibliography of the Rome, Berlin, Athens and Istanbul departments, the Bibliography on the Archaeology of the Iberian Peninsula and the Bibliography of the Archaeology of Eurasia. Some overlap with Dyabola.

JSTOR-- a full-text database which has 44 of the main journals in classical studies. There's an embargo on the last five years for most journals, so you won't find the latest information here, however ease of use and full text availability will make this an important resource for your studies.

Project MUSE -- a full text database which you'll probably use less, except for the sections on ancient history and ancient philosophy.