Skip to main content

CLST 300 Greek Drama: Tragedy & Comedy in Athens in the 5th century BCE: Greek Drama

Recommended Books

Featured Resources

Periodical Databases

To identify articles on your topic, the best tool is a research database.  These are usually periodical indexes, which arrange journal articles by author, title and subject.  This allows you to find as many articles as possible on your topic, since the references are collocated. 


L'Annee Philologique-- this is the premier database for classical studies. It indexes over 1000 journals, so start here every time.  Please see the user guide for ideas about searching.  A video guide is in the making. 

Dyabola -- Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut: Indexes books, articles and essays on antiquities, art and archaeology in the ancient Middle Eastern, classical, early Christian, Byzantine, and early Medieval periods. Some overlap with Zenon.

Zenon-- Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut. Zenon searches the following collections: The Archaeological Bibliography of the Rome, Berlin, Athens and Istanbul departments, the Bibliography on the Archaeology of the Iberian Peninsula and the Bibliography of the Archaeology of Eurasia. Some overlap with Dyabola.

JSTOR-- a full-text database which has 44 of the main journals in classical studies.  There's an embargo on the last five years for most journals, so you won't find the latest information here, however ease of use and full text availability will make this an important resource for your studies.

Project MUSE -- a full text database which you'll probably use less, except for the sections on ancient history and ancient philosophy.

Your Professor

Peter Burian

 

 

Department of Classical Studies

Duke University

 

Your Librarian

Mengjie Zou's picture
Mengjie Zou
Contact:
DKU AB 2101C
0512-36657027

Your Librarian

Helen Xu's picture
Helen Xu
Contact:
AB 3217, Duke Kunshan University Library
(0512) 3665-7207