Skip to main content

East Asian Collections at Duke University Libraries: Korea

Overview

Duke's Korean collection covers a wide range of subjects in the social sciences and humanities with strengths in history, literature and art history, culture, buddhism, cinema and performing arts.  The major Korean Studies Databases are also available at Duke.

Newspapaer Archives

Newspaper Archives

  • Naver News Library (1920-1999)
  • Newspaper Archive (1896-1963)
  • Daily Newspaper Archives (1960-1989)
  • Historical Korean Newspapers (1905-1962)

Korean Studies Databases

Selected New Collections

Rodong Sinmun 1945-1999
The Rodong Sinmun (로동신문 or 노동신문), the official newspaper of North Korea, includes the news articles from 1945 through 1999 published by the Central Committee of the Worker’s Party in North Korea. (Duke ID/PW required) 

조국 (Choguk) 1964-2010
Monthly journal published by the pro-Pyeongyang federation of Korean residents in Japan. This journal include politics, economics, culture, customs, and history of North Korea as well as the life of Korean residents in Japan.

조선사회과학학술집 (Choson sahoe kwahak haksulchip)
500 volumes providing detailed and comprehensive analysis of all aspects of social science in North Korea in recent years.

Selected Digital collection

William Hillman Shockley Photographs, 1897-1922
Over 2200 black-and-white images taken by William Shockley during his world travels as a mining engineer between 1896 to 1909. It includes about 350 images of Korea.

Colonial Korean Postcard Collection, 1900-1945
Over 9000 digitized postcards of Korea from 1900 to 1945, most of which document the Colonial Period (1910-1945). (Duke ID/PW required)

Duke's film collection

Duke's Korean Film collection includes over 1,500 films.
Videos, DVDs and CDs are stored in the closed stacks of Lilly Library.

Asian Film Online streams culturally and historically significant films from Asia and the Pacific. Includes about 360 Korean films.

Duke's North Korean Film collection

Libguide on Duke's Korean Film collection