Historical Coverage:
America's Historical Newspapers (1690 to 1922) provides access to scanned images from newspapers from all 50 U.S. states.
Newspapers.com provides access to over 3000 newspapers from the US, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia and Panama (1700s to 2000s). The strength of this database is its coverage of state newspapers from 1923 to the 1990s.
African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides full-text access to hundreds of African-American newspapers from every region of the United States.
19th Century US Newspapers provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.
Chronicling America is a joint project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Currently, you can search and view pages from the newspapers of around 30 states. The ultimate goal of this project is to have every state and U.S. territory represented in this digital archive. Coverage is 1836 to 1922 but varies by title.
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808 to 1980) provides access to news articles in Spanish-language newspapers published in the U.S..
Current Coverage:
America's News is a large collection of titles arranged by state and region. This full-text service excludes advertisements but includes national, regional, state, and local news items which were written by the local newspaper staff. Letters to the editor and editorials are included. Coverage is largely from the 1990s to present. This database also included historical coverage of several NC newspapers including The Durham Herald Sun, The Raleigh News and Observer, and the Charlotte Observer.
Newspapers.com (see above)
NexisUni provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. newspapers, radio and television transcripts. Coverage varies by title, but the majority of titles are available from the 1990s to the present.
Ethnic Newswatch (1960 to present) contains the full text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States.
Individual Titles:
Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to scanned images from major U.S. newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Baltimore Sun (1837-1995); Chicago Tribune (1849-2011); Los Angeles Times (1881-2012); The New York Times (1851-2017); The Wall Street Journal (1889-2003); The Washington Post (1877-2004). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers provides access to scanned images from Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); the Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); and the Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975). These titles can be searched simultaneously or individually.
