LibGuides: History 320: Sports and American Culture: Finding Journal Articles

Subject Specific Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes secondary literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Coverage 1954 to present. This is the most important database for secondary literature in the field of history.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles covering the study of sports
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the field of sociology

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.

Project Muse
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from thousands of scholarly journals
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Search for magazine articles from major general-interest periodicals published in the US between 1890-1982

American Periodicals
Search for scanned articles from magazines and journals that were first published from 1740 to 1900. For some publications, coverage extends into the 1940s.