Primary Sources - North America: Recommended Databases

Combined search for Early American Imprints Series I and II plus supplements. Provides access to thousands of books, pamphlets, broadsides, maps and more. Coverage is 1639 to 1819.

Provides access to over 1,000 sources of letters, diaries and memoirs from individuals who lived through and experienced the American Civil War. Coverage is 1855-1875.

Offers consolidated searching for the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, Dolley Madison, and Alexander Hamilton plus documents on the ratification of the U.S. Constitution.

Provides access to scanned articles from over 1000 magazines and journals first published from 1740 to 1900. Coverage extends to 1940.

Provides access to a range of materials, including manuscripts, books and maps, on the American West. Coverage is 1722 to 1939.

Search for primary source materials on the freedom movement from governmental, organizational and personal perspectives.

Provides access to images of all the pages in Harper's Weekly from 1857 to 1912.

Provides access to the organizational records of the NAACP.

Provides access to thousands of pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Coverage begins in 1840 with the main focus on the period from 1890-1920.

Contains over 2000 sources from North American women from colonial times to the 1950. It includes records from close to 1,500 women.

Online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.

Tells the story of the 1960s through letters, oral histories, memoirs, broadsides, pamphlets, videos and more. Coverage is 1960 to 1974.

Search primary sources related to the history of slavery from the 15th through the early 20th century

Provides access to a wide range of documents on women's activism.