LibGuides: Pastoral Theology-Care and Psychology: Getting Started

Quick Links

Links for library, Sakai, & tech pages

Document Delivery

Document Delivery will provide electronic delivery of articles and book chapters (as PDFs) for resources located at Duke as well as those not available at Duke.

Creating a Document Delivery Account (2 min. video) | Requesting items through Document Delivery (2 min. video)

We recommend requesting entire books, journal volumes, or microfilm via your own local public library unless you intend to use them during your time on campus.

E-resources & Get it @ Duke

Click on the get it @ Duke button to access e-resources and databases. From off campus, you will be prompted for your NetId and Password.

Many databases only provide abstracts and not the full-text of articles. If you don't see a link for the full text, use get it @ Duke to find it in the library.

2-min. video on using Get it @ Duke

More info on off-campus access to e-resources

Youth Ministry
Includes links to specialized databases, new books in youth ministry, youth ministry journals, and reference sources for course study in youth ministry.
Christian Theology
Includes links to specialized databases, reference books, and web resources for course study in Christian Theology.
Church History
Includes links to specialized databases, books, and reference works for course study in church history.
Old Testament
Includes links to specialized resources and tools used for study of the Old Testament.
New Testament
Includes links to specialized resources and tools used for study of the New Testament.
Liturgical Studies
Includes links to specialized resources for course study of Christian worship (liturgics).

Top Resources

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journal articles and book essays in religion and theology. A great place to start in looking for articles with a number of titles available in full text and GetIt@Duke links that may provide full text from other database subscriptions.
Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to search for books, and other materials, available at Duke. When away from Duke, it may be helpful to filter your search results to 'Online' on the left-hand side.
Worldcat
Allows you to do a combined catalog search of many libraries worldwide. Use Worldcat's free cousin, Worldcat.org, to find locations of books in nearby libraries (search by zipcode).
Ministry Matters
Provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers.
e-Journal Index
Use this to look up the title of a particular e-journal. For example, the Journal of Youth Ministry.
Full List of Divinity Databases