Open Access Resources in Religious & Theological Studies: Primary Sources

Launched in April 2013, the DPLA brings together digitized materials from America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Digital collection of public domain texts selected as valuable for teaching and research relating to ancient Near Eastern studies.

Digital collection of millions of items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections with a special focus on European materials.

The online Gifford Lectures database presents a comprehensive collection of books derived from the Gifford Lectures. The lectures, "promote and diffuse the study of Natural Theology in the widest sense of the term—in other words, the knowledge of God” (from website)

Contains records of digital resources from open-archive collections worldwide.

Database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.).

Collections cover primary and secondary sources of Greco-Roman classics and the English Renaissance.

A digital library of primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools is a collection of digital resources contributed by member libraries. The creation of CDRI was made possible by a generous grant from the Henry Luce Foundation. The CDRI collections provide access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.

Links to the full text of writers from the first two centuries of the Christian Church. Creator: Peter Kirby.

Collection of Jewish documents from antiquity with translations, introductions, and links. Creator: Peter Kirby.

Works not included in the collection, Ante-Nicene, Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers.

Free online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature featuring photographs, artworks, videos, essays, maps, timelines, interactive games, multiple texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (condensed edition).

Digital library of Thomas Aquinas's works in Latin.

Includes the full-text of Calvin's commentaries and other works.

Collection of historical and scholarly resources about the Wesleyan Tradition, theology, Christianity, and the Church of the Nazarene. Content provider: Northwest Nazarene University.

A digital library of primary source materials from John Edwards (1703-1758), famed 18th century theologian published by Yale University's John Edwards Center.

Digital collection of interdisciplinary and historical materials related to American Methodism.

Digital collection of 17th and 18th century Quaker materials.

The General Commission on Archives and History has made some research tools available on their website. From here, you can view the full text archive of the Methodist History Journal and search the Index to the Conference Journal Memoirs and much more.

Official website of the Holy See. Provides links to a wide variety of papal and primary source documents relevant to the Catholic Church. Plans are underway (as of March 2013) to digitize and make freely available the entire Vatican library.

Accounts of Evangelical conversion in Georgian Britain.