Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Free Books Online
Open access books, digitized from the Duke Divinity School Library's collection of pre-1923 religious titles.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL)
A digital library that provides free electronic copies of Christian scripture and literature texts.
Directory of Open Access Books: Religion
Website that lets you search across a wide range of scholarly open access journals.
Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism
Online digital library of journals, books, and other materials relating to theology, interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Note: you must register for a free account
before gaining access to full-text articles and books.
You can search and preview millions of books in Google Books. To find free full-text Google books: Select "Search Tools." Under "Any books" choose, Free Google eBooks. NOTE: Free Google books will mostly include books published before 1923.
HathiTrust (Public Domain within US only)
Repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. Only public domain works will be full-text searchable.
A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 281 billion archived web pages.
IntraText Digital Library
Full text library of religious texts from Christianity (including the categories of Bible, Catholicism, the Vatican, Orthodox Christianity, Patristics, Reformation, the consecrated life and Thomism), Buddhism, Hinduism, and Islam.
New Testament Reading Room
From Tyndale University College, a list of links to the full or partial full text of digitized books relevant to the study of the New Testament.
Old Testament Reading Room
From Tyndale University College, a list of links to the full or partial full text of digitized books relevant to the study of the Old Testament.
Online Books Page (via UPenn)
Listing of over 1 million free books on the Web. Browse books by subject heading to find religion and theology links.
Theological Commons (Princeton University)
A digital library of 76,717 books and journals on theology and religion, including 26,783 volumes from the Princeton Theological Seminary Library.
Wabash Center Online Books
Close to 200 books organized in the Wabash Center's Internet Guide to Religion.
Finding Books at a Library Near You
Worldcat is a library catalog of books and materials held worldwide. You can use Worldcat to search for the location of books by zipcode to find the one nearest you.
- Your local public library may have an interlibrary loan service for requesting books that are not available locally
- If you are an alumni or affiliate of a university, check with the institution to find out about alumni/affiliate library privileges
- Library Information for Duke Divinity School Alumni
Selected Open Books
Book of Common Prayer
Several versions are available on this site: 1979; 1928; 1892; 1789; 1786; 1662; 1559; 1552; 1549.
Index to volumes (with links) that have been digitized by Google Books.