CULANTH 89S: Music as Mirror, Mediator: Finding Articles

Key e-journals:

America's Newspapers
Full text newspapers

Factiva
Full-text newspapers, including many foreign papers

Lexis Nexis Academic
Full text newspapers, magazines, TV and radio news transcripts. 

• Humanities Abstracts
  Good coverage of music and other humanities sources

• ProQuest
  Scholarly journals in all fields, plus popular/media sources

• Project Muse

• JSTOR
  Full-text collections of core scholarly journals in all fields

• Academic Search Complete
  Scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing access for over 10,000 publications.

• International Index to Music Periodicals
  Journal articles on all aspects of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest trends

• RILM
  Abstracts of Music Literature Offers broad international coverage; includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes.

• Rock's Backpages
  Extensive archive of articles and reviews with particular focus on the 1960s through the 1990s.

• Lexis Nexis Academic
  Good source for reviews and recent reports on music. 

• Dusted and Pitchfork
  Internet sites featuring critical reviews of new music.

• Black Grooves
  Music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture (AAAMC). Includes reviews of new releases and reissues in all genres─including gospel, blues, jazz, funk, soul, R&B, world music, and hip-hop.

Social Movements and Historical Information

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter database name (see below for starting points), or click Find Databases by Subject.

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

Not available through Duke? Request it from another library using Document Delivery.

• Historical Abstracts
  Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.

• PAIS International
  Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.

• Anthropology Plus
  Provides access to the journal literature of cultural and physical anthropology, archeology and related disciplines from the late 19th century to the present.

• AnthroSource
  Fulltext archive for the journals of the American Anthropological Association.

• SocINDEX with Fulltext
  Offers fulltext articles and comprehensive coverage of sociology.

• America: History and Life
  Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present; indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.

• Sociological Abstracts
  Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.