Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dai Nihon Bukkyō zensho 大日本佛教全書
Call Number: EAC: BQ670 .D35 1978-1983
151 volumes which covers 953 Japanese Buddhist texts printed by the end of the Edo period.
Taishō shinshū daizōkyō 大正新脩大蔵経. 85v.
Call Number: EAC: BQ1105 .T357 1960
The standard edition for scholarship in all areas of East Asian Buddhism. Vols. 1--55 are the main canon; vols. 56--84 added Japanese works on Buddhism; vol. 85 reprinted newly discovered texts from Tun-huang and indigenous Chinese scriptures; vols. 86--97, catalogues of iconography; vols. 98--100, bibliography.
Buddhist Text Online Resources
Chinese Buddhist texts
The WWW Database of Chinese Buddhist texts is a comprehensive list of Chinese Buddhist texts. It currently contains 4418 texts by 1513 authors. It makes available all texts contained in the following collections or catalogues and provides convenient cross-references among these sources of information: 1.Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō, 2.Tripitaka Koreana, 3. Zhonghua Dazangjing, 4.Dainippon Zokuzōkyō, 5.'A catalogue of the Chinese translation of the Buddhist Tripitaka' by Bunyiu Nanjio, Oxford 1883. Presently encoded in Shift-JIS.
Electronic Buddhist Text Initiative
This site contains information regarding the a wide range of ongoing projects which aim at the digital utilization of Buddhist texts, images and other cultural artifacts. Included are records of previous EBTI meetings, as well as a comprehensive annotated list of projects and other related URLs.
Kyoto University Library Electronic Library
Includes full texts of some Buddhist sutras (Daizokyo, Shinshu texts and so forth).
The Taisho Tripitaka, 大正新脩大藏經テキストデータベース (Taisho Shinshu Daizokyo)
Provided in both Chinese (Big 5) and Japanese (Shift Jis). Searching under author/compiler, text title or text number (ie, number used in the Taisho set) is possible. At this point the table of contents of the 85 volumes (the Tripitaka proper, not including the 15 picture and bibliography volumes) is displayed. There are 2,920 individual sutras, commentaries, etc.
Japanese Historical Text Initiative
A collaboration of the University of California and Osaka International University, the site provides:
- Searchable database of classical texts such as Kojiki and Nihon Shoki, as well as commentaries, and/or translations
- Digitized research tools: Shintō dictionary, Shintō glossary, atlas, and Shintō bibliographic guide
- Information on on-going digital Shintō research
- Shintō studies on other web sites (includes the full text of of four works: Matsuri, New Relgions, Folk Beliefs and Kami, originally published by the Institute for Japanese Culture and Classics, Kokugakuin University)
- Shintō web sites
- Japanese culture web sites
Catalogs of Scriptural Collections
Confucian and Daoist Texts
The International Research Institute for Zen Buddhism
This is the website of the International Research Institute for Zen Buddhism (IRIZ) in Kyoto, Japan; includes information about the Institute, their publications, Buddhist input projects, reproductions of Zen Art, Zen stories, Zen centers and masters, Zen bibliographies, and Electronic text in East Asia.