Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religious and Philosophical Texts
Nihon shisō taikei (1970-1982) 日本思想大系
67 volume set provides important texts from the Kojiki to folk religion in the Tokugawa period. Texts include village documents, warrior codes, discourses on art and tea ceremony, reports of travelers to Europe as well as the major texts by people like Kūkai, Nichiren, Arai Hakuseki, Motoori Norinaga and others. Some volumes focus on a single text or philosopher; others include many. Each text has notes at the top of the page and furigana in the text itself. Each volume includes commentaries (kaisetsu), bibliographies and a chronology.
Nihon no shisō (1968-1972) 日本の思想
Call Number: EAC: B5240 .N5 1969
20 volumes cover from Kūkai to Bakumatsu. Organized by topic or individual. Each text includes furigana and is translated into modern Japanese at the bottom of the page. Each volume includes commentaries, a chronology and bibliographies.
Gendai Nihon shisōtaikei (1963-68) 現代日本思想大系
Call Number: EAC: B5240 .G4 1963
35 volume set organized by topic – nationalism, Christianity, humanism. Some devoted to an individual, Fukuzawa Yūkichi, Uchimura Kanzō, Yanagida Kunio. Covers from early Meiji to the immediate postwar. Includes commentaries, bibliographies and chronologies.
Kindai Nihon shisō taikei (1974-1978) 近代日本思想大系
Call Number: EAC: B5240 .K56 1974
36 volume set is organized by philosopher. Includes religious, political philosophers and ideologues from both the right and left wing (Marxists, Anarchists), literary and art critics, journalists and historians, most of whom were active from Meiji to WWII. The last six volumes focus on several writers organized by period: Meiji, Taishō and Shōwa. Each volume includes several commentaries, chronology and bibliography in addition to the texts.
Nihon kindai shisō taikei (1988-1992) 日本近代思想大系
Call Number: EAC: B5241 .N546 1988
24 volume set organized by topic. Edited by major scholars in the field. Focuses on Meiji thought from the opening of Japan to art. Furigana and notes are included for the documents and some documents have commentaries at the end of the volume. The last volume includes a listing of all the commentaries and the documents included in each volume as well as name index.