Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War and Reconstruction: Other Primary Sources

Magazine/Journal Articles

American Periodicals provides access to full text images of popular American newspaper, professional journals and magazines that began publication from 1740-1900.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection provides access to a comprehensive collection of periodicals published from 1684 to 1912.

Harper's Weekly provides access to images of all the pages in Harper's Weekly from 1857 to 1912.  Everything in this publication has been indexed.  You can even exclusively search the advertisements or illustrations.

The Nation (1865 to present, excluding the most recent 18 months) is a fully searchable, full-text database of the content of  The Nation, a liberal U.S. current affairs magazine.

Collections: Duke Databases

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries provides access to full text letters, memoirs, and diaries written from 1861 to 1865.  The indexing in this database is phenomenal.  You can restrict your search to the martial status, occupation, military rank, religion, and much more of the authors included in the database.

Civil War in Words and Deeds is a digital collection of first-person accounts chronicling army life from 1861 through 1865.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice is a digital collection documenting the key aspects of slavery worldwide. One focus area is slavery in the early Americas. Coverage is 1490-2007.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery documents the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the late 15th through the early 20th century through books, pamphlets, legal materials and more.

Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915 is a collection of primary sources on the plantation system and its impacts.

Sabin Americana contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

Other Web Sites: A Selection

The Library of Congress's American Memory site is one of our favorites. This site provides access to digitized documents on American history and culture from the collections of the Library of Congress.  Civil War collections include images, maps, and the Papers of Abraham Lincoln.

Documenting the American South is a fantastic site from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  Covering Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century, this site provides access to an outstanding collection of materials including first person and slave narratives. It also includes a great collection on the southern homefront.

The Making of America (Cornell) and the Making of America (Michigan) provides fulltext access to primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This includes digitized books and long runs of journals. A collaboration between Cornell University and the University of Michigan, each site provides access to the other.  The Making of American contains scanned images of the entire runs of the War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies and the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies.

The Valley of the Shadow, a collaboration between the Virginia Center for Digital History and the University of Virginia Library, explores in detail the life during the American Civil War era in two towns, one Southern and one Northern.