Middle East Cinema: Getting Started

  

To search for films, go to the Film & Video Collection page and use the custom search box at the top of the page. The following list of countries uses subject 'tags' in the records to pull up lists of films from or about countries in our collections. Click on one of the countries to see a list of relevant films:

• Motion Pictures - religious aspects - Islam

• AsiaPacific Films
• Ethnographic Video Online
• Films on demand
• Filmakers Library Online
• NC LIVE Video Collection

>>> More streaming video databases...

Duke Libraries' multidisciplinary and international film collection is located in Lilly Library on East Campus. Lilly Library also provides equipment to view film and video resources.

• For Instructors: Click here to find out how to put videos on class reserve at Lilly Library.
• Videos on Reserve at Lilly Library

• To learn how to find films in Duke's collections, see the film librarian's guide.

• At UNC: The Ellen-Fairbanks D. Bodman Collection of Middle Eastern and Islamic World Films

• FIAF
• Film Indexes Online
  
• Film & Television Literature Index Full-text
• International Index to the Performing Arts
• MLA International Bibliography

• More Recommended Databases for Film & Video

See also:

• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Index Islamicus
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

• Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers 

Dönmez-Colin, Gönül.

The Routledge dictionary of Turkish cinema.
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY: Routledge, 2014.
eBook

Ginsberg, Terri.

Historical dictionary of Middle Eastern cinema.
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2010.
Lilly Library PN1993.5.M53 G56 2010 Check availability @ Duke

Leaman, Oliver (ed.)

Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film.
London ; New York: Routledge, 2001.
Lilly Library Reference PN1993.5.A65 C66 2001 Check availability @ Duke
E-Book

Mazur, Eric Michael.

Encyclopedia of religion and film.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2011.

E-Book

Soliman, Ismail Baha'a Eddeen.

Encyclopedia of the big screen : English - Arabic, with illustrations : history, technology, equipent, schools, theories, semiology / موسوعة الشاشة الكبيرة : إنجليزي - عربي، موضحة بالرسوم : تاريخ، تقنيات، معدات، مدارس، نظريات، سيميائيات،
Beirut: Librarie du Liban Publishers, 2012.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room PN1993.45 .S65 2012x Check availability @ Duke