Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Japanese Studies Research Guide
Ian Condry website
Provides information on Japanese hip hop and Japanese popular music, including links to selections of Hip Hop, R&B, Pops, Enka, Folk, Rock and Children's music.
EASIANTH (East Asian Anthropology)
Covers socio-cultural, archaeological, biological, linguistic and applied sub-fields. Volume reasonable. To join or leave Easianth, click here.
Japanese Society of Cultural Anthropology
In English and Japanese. Includes a link to the tables of contents of Bunkajinruigaku (previously known as Minzokugaku kenkyū, a list of anthropological journals published in Japan with contacts, links to the homepages of members and a list of Departments and Research Institutes in Japan where one may study ethnology and/or cultural anthropology at the postgraduate level or above.
Kokuritsu Minzoku Hakubutsukan
The National Museum of Ethnology, Osaka, Japan (English). The National Museum of Ethnology (Minpaku) was established in 1974 as an Inter-University Research Institute under the Monbusho, the Ministry of Education, Science, Sports and Culture. The general functions of Minpaku are i) ethnological (anthropological) research, ii) the collection and conservation of ethnographic materials and iii) public exhibition. With these activities, the museum aims to promote a general understanding and awareness of people, societies and cultures throughout the world.
Research Resources in Japan Anthropology
Created by Bill Kelly at Yale, it includes a fairly comprehensive bibliography of anthropological studies of Japan organized by publication date and other useful pedagogical resources. There's also an open, searchable bibliography and image catalog under "Other Resources.
Society for East Asian Anthropology
The Society for East Asian Anthropology (SEAA) is an officially recognized group within the American Anthropological Association (AAA), open to all members of the AAA, but its activities are intended to reach beyond the membership of the AAA. Any anthropologist anywhere in the world is welcome to join SEAA, to subscribe to our EASIANTH listserv, to post, and to participate. SEAA is committed to developing international channels of communication among anthropologists throughout the world. We hope to promote discussion and share information on diverse topics related to the anthropology of Taiwan; PRC; Hong Kong; Japan; Korea; other societies/cultures of Asia and the Pacific Basin with historical or contemporary ties to East Asia; transnational linkages among East Asian or between East Asian and other societies/cultures; and diasporic societies/cultures identified with East Asia.