LibGuides: POLSCI 202: Film, Race, and Politics: Databases of Articles

Subject-specific

Go to Databases page and type in title below to access the following sources:

America History & Life: Covers history, culture, ethnic studies, political science.
Education Full Text: Covers contemporary education issues, including multicultural education and government funding
LexisNexis Guides to Microforms: Use African-American History collection
LexisNexis Academic: US news including the New York Times and Washington Post; also legal, business, and biographical coverage
ProQuest Congressional: Legislative tracking, key players, US documents; search topics such as Japanese internment and Indian massacres
NationalJournal: Brief analysis of national issues
PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Scholarly articles in Public Policy; Tip: try keywords foreign policy, black americans, political attitudes
Sociological Abstracts: Index to scholarly materials in sociology, social psychology, social welfare, planning and policy, political sociology.


Go to Databases page and type in title below to access the following sources:

Chicano Database: Material by and about Chicanos and other Latinos in the US
Ethnic Newswatch: Articles from ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals in the US.; Tip: Try combining keywords with these subjects: Politics (racial), Politics (activists/activism).
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index): Tip: To narrow to US subjects, use "political and hispanic."
Black Studies Center: Tip: Limit your keyword search to "within citations only."; Tip: Use subject headings on voters, voting, etc; or politics-the americas-usa.
Left Index: Articles from the political left, with emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship.; Tip: sample search--all words: race politics attitude participation AND exact word order: united states