POLSCI 202: Film, Race, and Politics: Search Strategies

For the catalog and databases:

Keywords/Subject Headings/Descriptors:

• immigrants, immigration 
• slavery 
• discrimination 
• race identity 
• political participation 
• voting behavior 
• Hispanic Americans 
• Native Americans--or Indians of North America 
• African Americans
• Minorities

Subdivisions of subject headings:

• --government policy 
• --United States 
• --politics and government 
• --political activity 
• --legal status, laws, etc. 
• --race relations

Search Strategies:

• race and politic* and (attitude or behavior
• use "racial" or "minorities" instead of "race" when searching Congressional sources

Look up titles in the catalog for call numbers and locations.

Almanacs: For a good start on racial and ethnic issues, try one of the following almancs. Then browse the surrounding call numbers for other reference sources on each ethnicity:

African American Almanac

Asian American Almanac

Hispanic American Almanac

Native North American Almanac

Congressional Quarterly's guide to U.S. elections

See index term: minorities

Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics

Appendices include speeches and documents

Handbook of North American Indians

Comprehensive reference guide for historical and anthropological research. Volume 4 is Indian-White relations, including chapters on national policies, conceptual relations, and political relations.

Hispanic Americans: Issues and Bibliography

Good overview covering political participation and representation, with tables.

Native American Issues: a reference handbook

Includes sovereignty, court cases and legislation, statistics, and points of view in words of Native Americans.

Political Parties and Elections in the United States: an encyclopedia

Check the index for: race and racial politics, specific names or issues

Racial and Ethnic Relations in America

State of Black America

From the National Urban League, a good political summary.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

*Start here* for statistics. Provides comprehensive statistical information on all aspects of American life, including voting age population, voter turnout, and elected officials by race or ethnicity.
1879 - present.  Latest at Ref. Desk C 3.134:
online: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/ or through LexisNexis Statistical database

Statistical History of the American Electorate

See the chapter on suffrage and election laws.