EUR-Lex provides free access to European Union law and other documents considered to be public. The website is available in 23 official languages of the European Union and contains texts dating back to 1951. The database is updated daily and every year around 12 000 documents are added.
The Official Journal was published for the first time on 30 December 1952 as a single series (A). In April 1958 the A series was replaced by the P series. The P series existed from 1958 until 1967. Since January 1968 the OJ has been published in two separate series, L (Legislation) and C (Information and Notices). Since 1998, an electronic version has been made available on EUR-Lex with every printed edition. All Official Journals are now being scanned and gradually uploaded to EUR-Lex in PDF format.
Register of Documents (European Parliament)
The European Parliament’s Register of Documents has references to documents produced or received by the European Parliament since 3 December 2001, the date on which Regulation (EC) No 1049/2001 came into effect.
Database with references for procedures and documents of institutions involved in the inter-institutional legislative procedure relating to the work of the European Parliament.
InfoCuria is a searchable database that contains all publicly available information concerning cases brought before the Court of Justice, the General Court, the General Court, and the Civil Service Tribunal.
The following keyword searches are good starting points to search for books on EU legislation in the online catalog. Use the facets on the left-hand side of the results page to narrow down large listings.
Search for articles on EU-related topics in the following databases.
This is the main decision-making institution of the EU. It is made up of ministers from each member state. The Council passes laws jointly with the European Parliament. The council also negotiates international agreements and makes decisions on foreign and economic policy measures.
This institution proposes legislation to Parliament and the Council, administers and implements Community policies, enforces Community law (jointly with the Court of Justice) and negotiates international agreements.
The EU's parliamentary body is made up of of directly elected citizens of EU member states. Together with the Council, it constitutes the legislative branch of the institutions of the Union.