LibGuides: Tests and Measures: Finding Reviews of Known Tests and Measures

Full Reviews

Mental Measurements Yearbook
This database is the only resource that includes ongoing formal reviews of commercial instruments. It includes all reviews from the print editions back to 1985. For reviews before 1985, see the earlier print editions in the Reference Stacks - Z5814.P8 B932.

Only two publications contain formal reviews, and those only contain reviews of commercial instruments. Validity and reliability information are included as part of the reviews.

Test Critiques
The ten volume print set contains lengthy reviews of commercial tests. Since the last volume was published in 1994, it is only useful for tests published for the first time before that date.

Other Sources

Health and Psychosocial Instruments
This database includes information about validity and reliability along with a description of the instrument when available.

The following sources include information about reliability and/or validity when available.

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
This print set, which is located in the 2nd floor stacks, includes validity and reliability information when available.
Tests : a Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
This print volume, which is shelved in the 2nd floor stacks, includes validity and reliability information when available.

Article Databases

ERIC
Click on "More Search Boxes." Put the name of the instrument in the top box. Put these words in the second box - review* or validity or reliability.

Article databases can sometimes be useful in finding evaluations of instruments.

PsycInfo
Click on "More Search Boxes." Put the name of the instrument in the top box. Put these words in the second box - review* or validity or reliability.
Other article databases
Depending on the topic of the instrument, you may find reviews in many other databases - medicine, sociology, social work, etc. Use this list to identify appropriate databases.