LibGuides: Tests and Measures: Identifying Tests and Measures

Tests and Measures Databases

ETS TestLink
Describes both commercial and noncommercial tests. Click on the tab that says Find a Test and then on the link that says Search the TestLink database. This database uses the same subject headings as the ERIC database.
more...less...
See the Obtaining Known Instruments tab in this Guide for more information about obtaining instruments identified in the ETS TestLink database.

The four databases below describe tests and measures. They vary by kind of tests included and amount of information about each test provided.

Note: Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print are cross-searchable. Once you're in one of these databases, click on the link that says Choose Databases, which is above the search box, check the box next to the other title, and click on OK.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Describes commercial and noncommercial tests and includes information about studies that have used the tests. Put in the kind of instrument you need (example - test anxiety) and change the drop-down box next to the search box to ME Measure.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Describes commercial tests and includes reviews and bibliographies of studies that have used the tests. Put in the kind of test you would like to find (example: test anxiety) in the top search box and change the drop-down box next to it to SC Scores. Limit your search by population in the middle search box if appropriate. To browse by very broad category, use the Test Category list at the bottom of the page.
Tests in Print
Describes commercial tests which are in print and includes additional citations for studies that have used the tests. See directions above for cross-searching Tests in Print and Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
In the search box, enter "compilation volumes" and the word or phrase for the kind of test you need. Put phrases in quotation marks. Example: "compilation volumes" "test anxiety"

Article Databases

ERIC
Perform a search for your topic, using the thesaurus as appropriate. On the Results List, click on All Limit Options. In the Publication Type box, select Tests/Questionnaires, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Limit Results Now. If the article or ERIC document includes the actual instrument, the abstract will say so in the last sentence.
more...less...
See this tutorial for more guidance on searching ERIC.

Article databases can also be useful for identifying tests by keyword or subject and finding studies that have used the tests.

PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Perform a search for your topic, using the thesaurus as appropriate. On the Results List, click on All limit options. Select Tests and Measures near the bottom of that screen and the click on Limit Results Now.

Other Article Databases
Other article databases in fields like medicine, sociology, and social work may also be useful in identifying tests and measures. Choose those databases from this list.

Tests and Measures Print Sources

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
This multivolume set, published by the American Psychological Association, describes free tests in psychology journals. Use the subject index in the back of the last volume to identify tests. Numbers given in the index refer to test numbers in all volumes.

These print sources are located in the Reference stacks on the 2nd floor of Alden Library.