Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

MEDREN: Medieval and Renaissance Studies at Duke Libraries

Microfilm in Perkins

Chronicles and documents of medieval England, c. 1150-1500 from Cambridge University Library
Sussex: Harvester Press Microform Publications, 1986. 39 reels and 1 guide.
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfilm M9508
This set includes chronicles, genealogies, letters, and various documents chiefly related to land, law, politics, and religion. 

Black Death: Sources concerning the European Plague
Perkins/Bostock Library M7314
Rare printed sources from the Herzog August Bibliothek, Wolfenbüttel, c1470-1822 (34 reels).

Medieval literary and historical manuscripts in the Cotton Collection, British Library, London
Sussex: Harvester Press Microform Publications, 1986. 123 reels.
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfilm M9707
Described as ‘the most important collection of manuscripts ever assembled in Britain by a private individual’, the library assembled by Sir Robert Bruce Cotton (1571-1631) contains some of the greatest treasures of British literature and history, including the Lindisfarne Gospels, Magna Carta, and the unique manuscript of Beowulf.

 The Early and Central Middle Ages, c. 650-1200 AD, the manuscript record. Parts one and two. Manuscripts from Cambridge University Library.  Sussex: Harvester Press Microform. 25 reels and a guide
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfilm M9500
These manuscripts, extracted from the holdings of Cambridge University Library, include literary, theological and philosophical works, Psalters, lives of saints, charters, Gospels, historical miscellanies, and bestiaries. Major authors represented include Aelfric, Aldhelm, Bede, Boethius, Gregorius, and Wulfstan. 

Episcopal registers, 1215-1650.  Sussex: Harvester Microform, 1983-   . 22 reels.
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfilm  M5373s
These original manuscripts are the official records of the Archbishop's activities and the changing role of the church over four centuries.  They contain information on the ecclesiastical, legal, social, and financial business of the church, including details of one of the wealthiest and most influential ecclesiastical provinces in England.

[Guenzburg collection of Hebrew manuscripts].  Jerusalem: Institute of Microfilmed Hebrew Manuscripts, Jewish National and University Library, 1993.  235 reels and list of reel contents.
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfilm  M7143
This collection of Hebrew manuscripts from the Russian State Library covers medicine, astrology, the Bible and Biblical exegesis, and philosophy.  Most manuscripts date from the middle ages.

Medieval and renaissance manuscripts from the Society of Antiquaries of London.  Reading, England : Research Publications, c1989.  11 reels and 2 guides.
Perkins/Bostock Library  Microforms Microfilm | M9696
Part 1 contains literary manuscripts and part 2 contains manuscripts dealing with history and art history. 

The medieval and Renaissance manuscripts of St. John’s College, Oxford: manuscripts dating from the 10th century to the 16th century.  Reading, Berkshire, England ; Woodbridge, Conn : Research Publications, 1995.  75 reels and guide
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms Microfilm | M9697
This set includes all pre-1700 manuscripts in the Library; in Latin, Anglo-Saxon, and English. 

Anglo-Saxon manuscripts in microfiche facsimile
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfiche S201.774
The guide provides descriptions of manuscripts held in various libraries, including the manuscript's history, codicological features, collation, list of contents, notes on special features and problems, and selected bibliography.

These collections include some medieval sources:

Early English books, 1475-1640.  Ann Arbor, University Microfilms. 
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfilm  N2375 and Early English Books Online
Includes the books listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland, and of English books printed abroad (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700). The online version also includes the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661)
 
Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature. Segment 1: Printed books through 1800.  Woodbridge, Conn.: Research Publications, 1975-1988. 1669 reels and guide. Now also online: The Making of the Modern World
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfilm  N4387-4388
Contains not only the standard items documenting the history of economics, but also unusual and rare items in the history of economic thought.  The collection is rich in materials on political and social history as well. Now online -see Making of the Modern World
 
Incunabula, the printing revolution in Europe, 1455-1500.  Reading:  Research Publications, 1995-1997.   microfiche and guide.
Perkins/Bostock Microforms  Microfiche M9738  and Med Ctr Hist Lock Stks Grp qII   Medical Incunabula (medical incunabula only)

Manuscripta (St. Louis, MO: 1957). St. Louis, St. Louis University Library.  359 reels.
Perkins/Bostock Microforms Microfilm  N2112 -N2287 and finding aid 
This series contains microfilms of rare and out-of-print books found in the Vatican Library in the fields of religion, philosophy, history, and related areas. Many primary and secondary sources are included in these titles, dating mostly from the 16th to 18th centuries.