Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Daily Life

• Eileen Power. Medieval  People. 1924 
• Eileen Power. Medieval English nunneries c. 1275 to 1535 
• Eileen Power. The goodman of Paris : (Le Ménagier de Paris) a treatise on moral and domestic economy 
• Eileen Power.  Medieval Women 
• G.G. Coulton Life in the Middle Ages 
• G.G. Coulton Scottish abbeys & social life 
• Henri Pirenne. Medieval cities; their origins and the revival of trade
• Delort, Robert. Life in the Middle Ages. 
• Arno Borst. Medieval worlds : barbarians, heretics, and artists in the Middle Ages
• Pierre Riché. The Carolingians : a family who forged Europe
• David Herlihy. Medieval households
• David Herlihy. Opera muliebria : women and work in medieval Europe
• Christopher Dyer Everyday life in medieval England
• Jean Dunbabin. Captivity and imprisonment in Medieval Europe, 1000-1300
• Barbara A. Hanawalt.  Growing up in medieval London : the experience of childhood in history
• Nicholas Howe. Home and homelessness in the medieval and Renaissance world
• Linda Mitchell Family Life in the Middle Ages
• Jeffrey Forgang Daily Live in Medieval Europe
• more: search the Duke Catalog for: "Europe -- Social life and customs"

Heraldry

• Early blazon : heraldic terminology in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries with special reference to Arthurian heraldry
• Heralds and heraldry in the Middle Ages; an inquiry into the growth of the armorial function of heralds.
• The Oxford guide to heraldry
• more: search the Duke Catalog for "Heraldry"

Measuring Systems

• Revolution in measurement : Western European weights and measures since the age of science   FULL-TEXT
• A dictionary of weights and measures for the British Isles : the Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century FULL-TEXT
• French weights and measures before the Revolution : a dictionary of provincial and local units (Perkins Stacks)
• British weights & measures : a history from antiquity to the seventeenth century (Perkins Stacks)
• Italian weights and measures from the Middle Ages to the nineteenth century  FULL-TEXT
• Medieval science, technology, and medicine : an encyclopedia     
• more: search the Duke Catalog for "Weights and measures "  

Numismatic, Coins, Money, Trade, Economics

• Commerce in the Dark Ages; a critique of the evidence.
• Dark age economics : a new audit
• Dark age economics : the origins of towns and trade A.D. 600-1000
• Dark Age numismatics : selected studies
• Later medieval numismatics (11th-16th centuries) : selected studies
• Medieval European coinage : with a catalogue of the coins in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge
• Mints and money in medieval England
• Money : a history
• Money and its use in medieval Europe [electronic resource]
• Numismatik des Mittelalters
• Trade, money, and power in medieval England
• Travel and trade in the Middle Ages 
• Traité de numismatique du moyen âge
• more: search the Duke Catalog for "Coinage -- Great Britain" "Money -- Great Britain" "Coinage -- France"
  also: "Economic history -- Medieval, 500-1500"

Papacy

• A short history of the Papacy in the Middle Ages.
• Encyclopedia of the Vatican and papacy
• Saints & sinners : a history of the Popes
• Rome : profile of a city, 312-1308
• The papacy : an encyclopedia
• The Oxford dictionary of popes [electronic resource]
• more: search the Duke Catalog for "Papacy -- History -- To 1309" "Church history -- Middle Ages, 600-1500" 

Biography

Scholarly (signed) biography articles can be a great start to understanding complex historical figures or writers:

• Biography in Context (Gale) contains more than one million thumbnail biographies from international sources.
• Biography and Genealogy Indexes current, readily-available biographical reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Provides over 12.7 million citations.​
• Literature Resource Center* designed for the research needs of undergraduates, the LRC provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline.
• World biographical information system (International)Biographical information on over 6 million people worldwide, from the 8th century BC to present. All areas of society and professions are covered. This database serves as an index to several microfiche sets including the British Biographical Archive, Archives Biographiques Françaises, Archivio Biographico Italiano, Archivo Biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica, Biografisch Archief van de Benelux, and Scandinavian Biographical Archive all of which can be found in the online catalog.
• Dictionary of National Biography (British) Biographies of noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles. Portraits included for more than 10,000 entries. Also known as the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
• Dictionary of Irish biography [electronic resource] (Irish)

Print

• Allgemeine deutsche Biographie
• An annotated index of medieval women 
• Bibliotheca sanctorum (Saints) 
• Biography Resource Center
• Biographie universelle ancienne et moderne  (use link to full-text in Hathi Trust)
• Butler's lives of the saints.
• Dictionnaire de biographie française
• Dizionario biografico degli Italiani
• Extraordinary women of the Medieval and Renaissance world : a biographical dictionary
• Germania Sacra "Klerikerdatenbank" - focused on Germanic history
• Index biographique français 
• Neue deutsche biographie.
• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
• Oxford Dictionary of Popes
• Portraits of Renaissance life and thought
• The late medieval age of crisis and renewal, 1300-1500 : a biographical dictionary
• Who is Who in the Middle Ages
• Who's who in early medieval England, 1066-1272
• World biographical information system

You will find more on Biography by searching for individual names in the Duke Catalog (Advanced Search = Subject)

You will also find biography under a catalog search subjects like:

• "Great Britain -- History -- Medieval period, 1066-1485 -- Biography"
• "France -- Biography"
• "Germany -- Biography"

Hagiography Books at Duke