Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Notable Manuscript Collections
Frank Baker Collection of Wesleyana and British Methodism, 1632-1975
Focused on the early history of Methodism, this large collection includes correspondence, diaries, images, and ephemera.
Jabez Bunting Letters, 1836-1840
Wesleyan Methodist minister instrumental in severing Methodism from Anglican Church.
Myles Greene Journals, 1789, June 13-Dec. 5
Record Greene's travels and work as minister of the Brunswick Circuit, especially in Brunswick and Greensville counties, Va.
Jeanne Audrey Powers papers, 1950-2011
United Methodist lesbian clergywoman who was the first secretary of the United Methodist Church's Commission on the Status and Role of Women. Also served as Assoc. General Sec. of the General Commission on Christian Unity and Interreligious Concerns from 1972-1996.
United Methodist Church Records, 1784-1984
This collection documents the life of church units (circuits, charges, and churches) in the N.C. Conference and the Western N.C. Conference.
Whitefoord Smith Papers, 1807-1893
Papers relate to the Methodist Episcopal Church in South Carolina, John C. Calhoun's views of slavery, the religious instruction of slaves, the Confederate press, Smith's activities in the temperance movement after the Civil War, Smith's pastoral duties, and other matters.
Andrew Spencer Turnipseed Papers, 1902-2002 and undated (bulk 1928-1965)
The collection documents Turnipseed's ancestry, early life, and roles as a theologian and Civil Rights activist in Alabama.
George Whitefield Papers, 1750-1759
Papers of Whitefield, a leading Methodist clergyman and evangelist.
Methodism at Duke
A good starting place is the Religious Life Reference Collection.
Other relevant University Archives collections:
Brantley York Records and Papers, 1838 - 1966
Brantley York was an educator, author, and Methodist clergyman in North Carolina. He organized Union Institute Academy at Brown's Schoolhouse in Randolph Co., N.C. in 1839, which would evolve into Normal College, Trinity College, and later Duke University.
Divinity School Records, circa 1920-2005
This collection contains information and materials documenting the operations of the Divinity School, including the activities of its deans, faculty, students, as well as various councils, committees and organizations within and associated with the school.
Divinity School Reference Collection, 1926-ongoing
Collection contains subject files relating to the Divinity School at Duke University. Some major topics include admissions, sermons, symposiums, continuing education, field education, student groups, and other topics.
Duke Chapel Records, 1920-[ongoing]
Collection contains records relating to the operations and activities of Duke Chapel and ranges in date from 1920-[ongoing]. Material includes administrative records, printed exercise programs and bulletins, transcripts of sermons, oversize material including marriage and baptismal registries, carillon and carillonneur material, miscellaneous clippings, press releases, and published material relating to Duke University and the Chapel. University Archives staff must be consulted in order to determine what material is covered by the administrative restriction.
Duke University Chapel Recordings, 1954-2002
Collection contains audio of sermons delivered at religious and ceremonial services in the Duke University Chapel by various ministers, professors, and guests of the University. Notable speakers include Howard Wilkinson, James Cleland, Waldo Beach, Thor Hall, Charlene Kammerer, Jon Laidlaw, Will Willimon, Robert Young and others. The collection consists of 7" reel-to-reel audio tapes, audiocassette tapes, VHS tapes, and digital audio tapes of sermons, programs and Lenten meditations delivered in Duke Chapel from 1954 to ongoing. Much has been digitized and is available online.
John C. Kilgo Records and Papers, 1888 - 1970 (bulk 1894-1920)
John C. Kilgo served as President of Trinity College (Durham, N.C.) from 1894 to 1910. The John C. Kilgo Records and Papers contain correspondence, sermons, lectures, articles, newspaper clippings, memorabilia, printed matter, and scrapbooks pertaining to Kilgo's career as an educator, as President of Trinity College, and as a Bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
Marquis Lafayette Wood Records and Papers, 1852 - 1984
Marquis Lafayette Wood was a Methodist clergyman, missionary, and educator. He served as President of Trinity College (Randolph County, N.C.) from 1883 to 1884.
Methodist Student Center Records, 1947-2000 (bulk 1954-1966)
The materials in the collection include two serials The Crusader and Methodist Student Movement, as well as, clippings, programs, brochures, reports and other printed material.
Minister of the University (Dean of the Chapel) Records, 1940-1984
The dean of Duke Chapel oversees the operation of the chapel and plays an integral role in connecting the academic and spiritual lives of the university's students, faculty and staff. The collection contains materials of the Minister's office, the Chaplain, Duke University Church, Friends of Duke Chapel, student religious activities and organization. Materials include files on former preachers at Duke Chapel, photographs, pamphlets, clippings, correspondence and audio cassettes.
United Methodist-Presbyterian Ministry Records, 1933-1974
This collection contains papers and photographs relating to activities of Methodist and Presbyterian organizations at Duke University.
Women outside Methodist Church, Beijing.
To identify Rubenstein print or manuscript material on these topics, search the catalog using subject headings such as these:
Alternatively, use keyword searches to find relevant sources and use the subject headings to identify additional relevant material.
Charles Alexander Long Papers, 1889-1979 and undated
Methodist clergyman, missionary, and educator, of Ardmore, Okla. Personal and family correspondence concerning the work of Long and his wife, Lucy Maie (York) Long, as Methodist missionaries in Brazil (1911-1952), where he was also an official and teacher at Granbery Institute, Juiz de Fora, Minas Gerais, Brazil.
George Arthur Roberts Family Papers, 1884-[1970s] and undated (bulk 1907-[1950s])
Methodist missionary from Iowa who went to Old Umtali (now Mutare) Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) in 1907 to teach agriculture.
George Way Harley Papers, 1911-1975
The papers relate principally to the life and work of George W. and Winifred J. Harley at the mission they founded and supervised at Ganta, Liberia and include diaries and journals, correspondence, writings and notes, miscellaneous personal and subject files, account books, notebooks, scrapbooks, albums, photographs, printed materials, clippings, diplomas, certificates, memorabilia, and other papers.
Mary McMillan Papers, 1936-1997 and undated (bulk 1952-1991)
Illuminate the personal life and professional work of McMillan, a United Methodist missionary and teacher at the Hiroshima Jo Gakuin College in Hiroshima, Japan and document McMillan's service to the Kyodan, a unifying organization for Christian missionaries in Japan, and to the hibakusha, the survivors of the atomic bomb attacks on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, as well as her peace activism.
Park-Lambuth-Sherertz family papers, 1825-1989
The Park, Lambuth, and Sherertz families were Methodist missionaries to China, Japan, and Africa.