It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religious Material in the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University: Christianity
Documentary photographer based in South Dakota. Relevant series explore ecstatic religious experience; Holy Land USA, a religious roadside attraction in Waterbury, Connecticut; and the lives of Cambodian immigrants to North Carolina.
These have to do with religion:
The Gospel According to Mr. Allen
The Color of Love
Shape of the Moon
For the Bible Tells Me So
The Monastery: Mr. Vig and the Nun
At the Death House Door
Caretaker for the Lord
These are not about religion, per se, but are about conflicts along religions lines:
Iraq in Fragments (one segment)
Shouting Fire: Stories from the Edge of Free Speech
12th and Delaware
African-American family living in various places in the southern U.S. Collection comprises Penn family photograph albums documenting African-American life in the South during the period of segregation. Includes church activities.
Documentary photographer based in New York City. Also director of photographic programs at SUNY-Empire State. Arab Americans, American by Choice series has images of Christian services, Muslim services, Jewish services.
Tom Rankin is a documentary photographer, filmmaker, folklorist, professor of art and documentary studies, and Director of the Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University, Durham, NC. Collection consists of black and white prints from Rankin's work documenting the American South, particularly religious sites, rituals, and communities in Mississippi Delta region.
Search for Hymnals through the catalog, using subject headings such as:
Manuscript reminiscence entitled "A Negro Camp-Meeting." The anonymous white author visited an outdoor religious meeting of African Americans in Maryland around 1900. Includes descriptions of participants' clothing and physical appearance; their modes of religious expression; and the words to verses of spirituals.
Individual items relating to Arthur's family and farm and volumes of financial records and membership lists of St. Paul's African Methodist Episcopal Church, 4 vols., and minute books of a lodge and benevolence society, 2 vols.
Topics represented in these papers of a religion journalist include the gay and lesbian community in San Francisco, the ordination of women and gay clergy, the women's rights movement, domestic violence and child abuse, and other miscellaneous subjects.
Born in Augusta, Ga., of parents who had been slaves. Includes reflections on the importance of religion and the church in her life. Full text available at http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/scriptorium/harris/
Frederick Herzog (1925-1995), former faculty member at the Duke Divinity School, was well known for his work on civil rights and liberation theology. The collection provides rich documentary evidence on the historical connections between religion, the Civil Rights Movement, and human rights.
personal and professional papers relating to the life and work of James Tough Cleland, preacher, Dean of the Duke University Chapel (1955-1973), and Professor of Preaching in the Divinity School (1945-1968).
Correspondence and legal and financial papers of several generations of a rural black family in Washington County, Va., concerning personal and family matters, men working away from home, county taxes, black societies, religious activities, insurance and other topics.
Handwritten diary containing an African-American woman's religious and philosophical reflections, inspirational clippings, and lists of books she read along with her opinions of them. Also contains references to St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, St. Paul's Episcopal Church, and the Central State Hospital for the Colored Insane.
Papers of a Presbyterian minister who lived in North Carolina and Tennessee. Includes a paper, apparently written by a slave to Brown, reproaching him for turning his back on the blacks and preaching only to the whites.
Primarily office files, including commission and committee meeting minutes, reports, correspondence, financial records, printed material, and other items. The collection includes a scrapbook for the United Church Women, 460 black-and-white and 66 color photographs, 43 color slides, and 60 black-and-white and 142 color negatives.
South African Methodist Church leader and anti-apartheid activist. The collection documents Peter Storey's leadership and active involvement in the Methodist Church of Southern Africa, the South African Council of Churches, the Central Methodist Mission in Johannesburg, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Gun Free South Africa, and other religious and anti-apartheid groups. Major subjects include Nelson Mandela, Winnie Mandela, urban ministry, crisis intervention, and political violence and elections in South Africa.
African-American native of Granville Co., N.C. Includes one folder of church-related seminar materials, from the "Women's Conference '99," containing Christian marriage and life skills advice; a conference program from the church-related "Women's Conference 2001" held at the Oxford Public Works Complex in Oxford, NC (2001 September 15); and a speaker biography and church bulletin documenting the "Women's Day" Service at Whetstone Baptist Church (2001 May 13 Sunday), Oxford, NC.