SOCIOL 490S:Images of Differences: Race, Gender, and Sexuality in the Media: Find Articles

• Ethnic Newswatch (1960-present)
  Full text of articles published in ethnic and minority U.S. newspapers, magazines, and journals.

• LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies by title, most available from 1990s)
  Full-text for hundreds of domestic and international newspapers.

• Factiva
  Provides global content; offers multiple language interfaces.

• Los Angeles Times (1881-present; full-text)

• New York Times (1851-3 years ago; full-text)

• Wall Street Journal (1984-present; full-text)

• Washington Post (1877-1996; full-text)

• Communication & Mass Media Complete
  Indexes more than 500 titles, including 200+ full text, covering communication and mass media (both scholarly and professional).

• Sociological Abstracts
  Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

• SocIndex with Fulltext
  Coverage of sociology, sub-disciplines, and closely related areas; 1908-present

• JSTOR
  Searchable archive of the major academic research journals across the humanities and social sciences.

• America: History and Life
  Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

• LexisNexis Academic
  Provides the full text of over 6,000 sources including newspapers, journals, news wire services, newsletters, and broadcast transcripts.

• International Index to the Performing Arts
  IIPA draws content from international performing arts periodicals covering nearly all aspects of performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.

• GenderWatch
  Collection of over 140 sources devoted to women's studies and gender issues.

• Black Studies Center
  Contains Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.

• Chicano Database
  Focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.

Try these research guides to find other suggestions.  Click on the "Articles" tabs to find database suggestions.

• Race and Visual Culture

• Film, Race, and Politics

• Sexuality Studies

• Women's Studies

• LGBT Studies

Journal of Visual Culture -- Research on historical events and diverse geographical locations

Journal of Women's History -- Covers new research on women's history.

Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly -- Research in journalism and mass communication.

Social Text -- Focuses on questions of gender, sexuality, race, and the environment