LibGuides: SOCIOL 495S: Sociology Honors Thesis Seminar: Finding Subject Specific Data

Subjects with Example Sources

US Census Bureau
You may find other interfaces more helpful than the data.censu.gov website. Includes data from recent decennial surveys, the annual American Community Survey, some economic/business surveys, and more.
NHGIS
The National Historical GIS organization is excellent for downloading tabular US Census data dating back to the 18th century, not just mappable GIS layers. Access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps using United States demographic data going back to 1790
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Develop interactive thematic maps and reports using more than 100,000 demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Includes data from the US Census, the American Community Survey (ACS), the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory, and MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset.

PSID
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics from the University of Michigan is a longitudinal household survey beginning in 1968, including data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Lots of employment, earnings, and price data. Includes a number of longitudinal surveys.
SIPP
The Census Bureau's Survey of Income and Program Participation is a household-based survey focusing on government assistance programs, designed as a continuous series of national panels. Each panel generally features a large sample of households that are interviewed multiple times over a four-year period.
U.S. Economic Data
A library guide leading to economic data at US federal government agencies.

HRS
The Health and Retirement Study from the University of Michigan is a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of approximately 20,000 people in America.
NCHS
The US National Center for Health Statistics (one of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) provides health data compiled by the federal government.
The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health)
The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. The Add Health cohort has been followed into young adulthood with four in-home interviews, the most recent in 2008, when the sample was aged 24-32. Add Health is re-interviewing cohort members in a Wave V follow-up from 2016-2018.

Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Search for data from polls conducted by many leading survey research organizations. NOTE: Users must register for a personal account. Previous login credentials will not provide access to Roper iPoll. A new account will be required.

ANES
American National Election Studies (ANES) provides data that support rich hypothesis testing, maximize methodological excellence, measure many variables, and promote comparisons across people, contexts, and time.
QOG
The Quality of Government Institute at the University of Gothenburg provides international survey data that focus on concepts related to quality of government, transparency and public administration.

ARDA Data Archive
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers.
NSYR
The National Study of Youth and Religion at the University of Notre Dame is a project designed to enhance understanding of the religious lives of American youth from adolescence into young adulthood, using telephone survey and in-depth interview methods.
more...less...
Can access data through ARDA.