LibGuides: PUBPOL 807: MPP Master's Projects: Literature Review

Books

WorldCat
WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Key Databases

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in political science and public policy
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarship on theory and research in international affairs; includes NGO publications

Dissertations, Theses, Master's Projects

Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
ProQuest database with downloadable full text for most; citations back to 1637, previews of recent dissertations.
Dissertations from Duke University
Available electronically from 2007 forward (search books for older dissertations). Public Policy does not show as a department (no theses in this database), so search by subject name, or search for terms in the citation and abstract.
Sanford School MPP Projects
Consult with Director of Student Services for the MPP program to find previous papers.

Research Tools

Research Log
Save time and frustration at the end of your project by recording your search strategies and resources used, at the time you use them.

From the start: Record and refine your search strategies by keeping a research log (ex. below); saving your search histories in databases; and/or taking screen shots of your searches.

Remember to cite sources as you go.

Citation Managers:

RefWorks

EndNote

Comparison: RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero

See also: Public Policy Writing