Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Humanities @ Duke University Libraries

Articles about DH

DH Journals

Ariadne is an open-access, quarterly magazine primarily focused on digital library initiatives in the United Kingdom and technological developments in related fields. Each issue contains articles, conference reports, and book reviews.

The Artl@s Bulletin is a peer-reviewed, transdisciplinary journal devoted to spatial and transnational questions in the history of the arts.

Computing in the Humanities Working Papers is an interdisciplinary series of peer-reviewed publications on computer-assisted research. CHWP includes research articles, essays on the epistemology and sociology of computer-assisted research relevant to computing in the humanities, and non-refereed experimental papers that exploit those properties of the electronic medium that are significantly different from the properties of print. Abstracts are available in both English and French.

DHQ: Digital Humanities Quarterly is an open-access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities. Published by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO), this journal includes traditional scholarly articles and editorials as well as experiments in interactive media and reviews of books, web sites, new media art installations, digital humanities systems and tools.

Digital Investigation covers new developments in digital forensics and incident response from around the globe. This quarterly journal publishes peer-reviewed research, practitioner reports, survey papers, tool reviews, and legal analysis and updates.

Digital Medievalist is an open-access, peer-reviewed, online journal that provides an international web-based community of medievalists with a forum for collaborating, exchanging expertise, and developing best practices. This journal publishes original research and scholarship, notes on technological topics, commentary pieces discussing developments in the field, bibliographic and review articles, and project reports of interest to medievalists working with digital media.

Digital Scholarship in the Humanities (formerly Literary and Linguistic Computing) is an international, peer-reviewed journal covering all aspects of digital scholarship in the humanities. This journal publishes articles reporting on theoretical, methodological, experimental, and applied research as well as descriptions and evaluations of tools, techniques, and methodologies, reports on work in progress, and reviews of books and other resources. Also available in print (L&LC in print).

Digital Studies/Le Champ Numérique is an open-access, peer-reviewed, online journal that emphasizes interdisciplinary contexts of digital humanities as well as issues of global and multicultural practice in the discipline. This journal publishes on a “rolling release” basis, so articles are added to the current issue and can be read as soon as the peer review has concluded. Abstracts are available in both English and French.

Fibreculture Journal is an open-access, peer-reviewed, online journal published by the Fibreculture network of critical Internet research and culture in Australasia. The scope of this journal covers information and communication technologies and their policy frameworks, network cultures and their informational logic, new media forms and their deployment, and the possibilities of socio-technical invention and sustainability.

First Monday is an open-access, peer-reviewed, online journal that publishes original articles about the Internet and the global information infrastructure, including political and regulatory issues, economic, technical and social factors, reports on standards, and discussions of the contents of the Internet. Issues of this journal are published on the first Monday of every month.

International Journal of Digital Art History gives authors in this field the opportunity to reach a wider audience, spark a discussion on the future of our discipline and generate an international and interdisciplinary network of scholars and practitioners.

International Journal of Humanities and Arts Computing [proxy link] (formerly History & Computing) is a multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles on theoretical approaches to digital humanities as well as case studies demonstrating practical applications of digital methodologies to traditional topics in the arts and humanities. Also available in print (H&C in print).

Journal of Computing and Cultural Heritage is a journal published by the ACM that deals with the application of information and communication technologies (ICT) in the Cultural Heritage sector, encompassing such areas as data collection, metadata and classification, tools for analysis and reconstruction, preservation issues, and more as used for historical and cultural interpretation. 

Journal of Digital Humanities is an open-access, peer-reviewed, online journal published by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media. This quarterly journal features scholarship, tools, and conversations produced, identified, and tracked by members of the digital humanities community through DHNow with added layers of evaluation, review, and editing.

Journal of Electronic Publishing is an open-access, online journal focusing on contemporary publishing practices, the impact of those practices upon users, and various aspects of authorship and readership. This journal publishes a mix of peer-reviewed scholarly research and trade related articles.

Journal of the Text Encoding Initiative is an open-access, peer-reviewed, online journal focusing on the interface between the TEI and other communities, and more generally of the role of technological standards in the digital humanities, including digital scholarly editing, linguistic analysis, corpora creation, and newer areas such as mass digitization, semantic web research, and editing within virtual worlds. This journal also publishes TEI Conference proceedings.

Kairos is a journal of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy. It publishes scholarship on topics related to technology in English Studies fields (e.g., rhetoric, composition, technical and professional communication, education, creative writing, language and literature). Submissions must make their argument through "rhetorical and innovative uses of new media". Kairos is published twice a year, with an additional special issue in May.

Language Resources and Evaluation [proxy link] (formerly Computers and the Humanities) is a well-established, peer-reviewed journal that began in the 1960s, to “report on significant new research concerning the application of computer methods to humanities scholarship.” Those reports come from a broad range of humanities fields, which now incorporate media, hypertext theory, and digital text applications, among others. The journal also serves as a forum for discussion of standards, resource management, and the increasing legal concerns in the creation, use, and management of digital resources. Also available in print.

Vectors: Journal of Culture and Technology in a Dynamic Vernacular focuses on “the myriad ways technology shapes, transforms, reconfigures, and/or impedes social relations, both in the past and in the present.” This journal is published irregularly and only includes works that need to be presented in multimedia formats.

Finding Books

Highlight:

Digital Humanities Bibliography at the Duke’s Digital Art History & Visual Culture Research Lab

In February 2019, John Taormina launched the Digital Humanities Bibliography with assistance from Alexander Strecker, Katherine McCusker, and Michael O’Sullivan.

Find more:

"Digital Humanities" is a relatively new term; given the history of the field, and the definition of Digital Humanities as an  "array" of practices, there are a number of subject terms that lead to the debates in the field; in general, the best strategy for finding materials of interest is to start with keywords like: "digital and literary" and to follow the subject links in a relevant book for more books on the topic.

Example:

Debates in the digital humanities
          Use subjects to find similar items

Humanities -- Study and teaching (Higher) -- Data processing
Humanities -- Technological innovations
Digital media
EDUCATION / Higher
EDUCATION / Educational Policy & Reform / General

more

Humanities -- Study and teaching (Higher) -- Data processing
Humanities -- Research -- Data processing
Humanities -- Digital libraries -- United States
Humanities -- Data processing 
Digital media
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Media Studies
COMPUTERS / Social Aspects / General
COMPUTERS / Digital Media / General
Humanities -- Technological innovations
EDUCATION / Higher
EDUCATION / Educational Policy & Reform / General
Literature and the Internet
Electronic publications
Literature -- Computer network resources
Digital libraries
Hypertext systems
English literature -- Criticism, Textual -- Data processing
English literature -- Publishing -- Data processing
Manuscripts, English -- Editing -- Data processing
Criticism, Textual -- Data processing
Text processing (Computer science)
Data editing
Electronic publishing