Chinese paintings from the Kingdom of Min: Chinese paintings

Looking for books on Chinese painting in the catalog? The following subjects are often used:

• Painting, Chinese
• Painters, China
• Art, Chinese
• Artists, Chinese

Selected books:

• Three thousand years of Chinese painting by James Cahill, Yale University Press, 1997
• Chinese painting and its audience by Craig Clunas, Princeton University Press, 2017
• Ink art: past as present in contemporary China, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2013
• Ordinary Images by Stanley K. Abe, University of Chicago Press, 2002

Looking for books & journals in the catalog ? The following subject terms are often used:

• Art, Chinese
• Art, Chinese -- Exhibitions
• Art, Chinese -- History
• Art, China
• Artists, China

Selected books

• A Companion to Chinese Art edited by Martin J. Powers & Katherine R. Tsiang, John Wiley & Sons, 2015
• Chinese Religious Art by Patricia E. Karetzky, Lexington Books, 2014.
• Contemporary Chinese Art: a Critical Hisitory by Paul Galdson, Reaktion Books, 2014.

Selected journals:

• Ars orientalis: the arts of Islan and the East: Co-sponsored by the Department of the History of Art, University of Michigan, and the Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution. It is an annual volume of scholarly articles and book reviews on the art and archeology of Asia.
• Asia Pacific Arts: from University of Southern California, the online magazine covers Asian and Asian American arti and entertainment: art, fim, television, music and fashion beginning in 2003.
• Art and AsiaPacific: started in 1993 in Australia, the magazine covers contemporary art and culture within Asia, the Pacific and the Middle East. Published 6 times a year, the magazine contains features, profiles, essays and reviews.
• Arts Asiatiques: founded in 1924, published in Paris, the journal covers art and archeology from a scholarly perspective.
• Artibus Asiae: established in 1925, published in Germany, the journal covers art and archeology of Asia. Articles are in German, French and English.
• Artibus Asiae supplementum series: 50 monograph series have been published since 1937, covering a broad range of studies.
• Archives of Asian Art: started in 1945 as the Archives of Chinese Art Society of American, the journal publishes new scholarship on art and architecture of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia.
• Collector & Connoisseur 收藏家: started in 1993 in Beijing, the magazine has text in Chinese, TOC in Chinese and English.
• 美術: founded in 1950 in Beijing by 中國美術家協會, is a core scholarly journal in China.
• Orientations: a bimonthly magazine published in Hong Kong since 1969. the magazine covers many and varied aspects of the arts of East and Southeast Asia, the HImalayas, the Indian Indian subcontinent and the Middle East., from the latest scholarly research to market analysis and current news.

• Asian Art Museum of San Francisco
• The Cleveland Museum of Art
• Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
• The Metropolitan Museum of Art
• Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
• The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
• 國立故宮博物院, Taipei (National Palace museum)
• 故宮博物院(Beijing Palace Museum)
• 上海博物館 (Shanghai Museum)